Forter, Signifyd, Riskified and Sift: Fraud Platforms Compared
Compare Forter, Signifyd, Riskified, Sift, Kount and ClearSale by decision ownership, guarantee scope, pricing model and the questions to put in an RFP.
Fraud-platform selection is a model decision, not a vendor decision: guarantee/liability-shift, managed decisioning, or risk scoring. Each transfers different liability and control. Match to your fraud maturity and chargeback exposure — not vendor marketing.
Fraud prevention platform selection is routinely framed as a vendor question. It is not. The decision that matters is which operating model fits your fraud maturity, team structure, margin tolerance, and chargeback exposure — and vendor selection follows from that. Getting the model wrong is more expensive than getting the vendor wrong.
Three operating models provide a useful comparison framework; a vendor can offer more than one contract or product. Guarantee/liability-shift vendors approve or decline orders and provide contractual reimbursement or credits for eligible chargebacks on approved transactions, subject to product, reason-code, submission and fulfilment conditions. Managed-decisioning vendors automate the approve/decline call and offer contractual commitments on approval and chargeback outcomes, without purely insuring the outcome. Risk-scoring/decisioning vendors return a score or recommendation that the merchant's team acts on, keeping the decision and the chargeback liability in-house.
The short answer
Start with who makes the decision and who bears the loss. A guarantee applies to qualifying approved orders under the vendor's contract; managed decisioning automates the call with its own outcome commitments; scoring leaves the final decision with your team. Public product pages cannot establish which vendor will perform best on your traffic. Compare coverage exclusions, override rights, integration and pricing shape in the RFP, then test against your own baseline.
For a named comparison, jump to Forter vs Signifyd, Sift vs Riskified, Forter vs Riskified, Sift vs Signifyd or Kount vs Riskified. The vendor table and RFP questions cover the dimensions to verify before choosing.

The three fraud prevention platform operating models — guarantee/liability-shift, managed decisioning, and risk scoring — mapped to how decision-making and liability are split between vendor and merchant.
Fraud tools vs chargeback tools
Fraud prevention platforms and chargeback management platforms get evaluated as if they compete for the same budget line. They don't. They sit at different points in the same dispute lifecycle, and a mature fraud operation typically runs one of each rather than picking a single winner across categories.
Pre-auth fraud scoring is what this article compares: Signifyd, Riskified, Forter, Kount, and Sift all operate before authorization, either deciding to approve or decline the transaction directly or returning a score your team acts on — depending on the operating model above. This layer determines how much fraud reaches your books in the first place.
Pre-dispute deflection sits one stage later — after a transaction is authorized but before a chargeback files. Verifi (Visa) and Ethoca Alerts (Mastercard) are network-side programs, not merchant SaaS: they let an issuer's dispute inquiry get resolved — a refund, a credit, a data exchange — before it converts into a formal chargeback.
Post-chargeback representment is the final stage. Chargeflow and Justt (merchant-configured automation) and Chargebacks911 (managed service) contest chargebacks that have already been filed.
Comparing a fraud-scoring vendor against a representment vendor is a category error — they solve different problems on opposite sides of the authorization line. For the deflection and representment layers in depth, see how to compare chargeback management platforms.
The comparison below covers six vendors using their public product descriptions. Verify each vendor's current positioning, coverage scope, pricing structure and exclusions directly. Published performance metrics are vendor claims, not comparable independent benchmarks.
The three models explained
Guarantee / liability-shift
The vendor approves or declines each transaction. On eligible approved orders, it promises contractual reimbursement for covered fraud chargebacks; the merchant remains in the acquirer and scheme relationship. The merchant pays a fee on approved orders and receives reimbursement when an approved order generates a qualifying chargeback.
What this changes operationally: covered fraud cost becomes more predictable, while excluded losses, fees and claim failures remain variable. The vendor is incentivised to approve legitimate orders accurately — they bear eligible covered losses if they approve fraud. Dispute operations (representment, evidence collection) may be handled by the vendor, reducing in-house chargeback team requirements.
What this does not change: non-fraud losses (operational errors, policy abuse, refund abuse, first-party fraud) are not automatically covered — coverage scope and exclusions are commercial terms, not published on product pages. Verify these directly.
Vendors publicly positioning in this model (as of 2026-05-30, ClearSale added 2026-08-20): Riskified, Signifyd, ClearSale (ClearSale's guarantee applies only to its higher-tier decision plans — verify tier eligibility).
Managed decisioning
The vendor automates the approve/decline decision using AI, machine learning, and identity-graph data. Rather than pure liability insurance, vendor materials describe contractual commitments covering approval rates, chargeback rates, and response time SLAs — a performance-based model rather than a per-order guarantee.
What this changes operationally: the vendor makes real-time decisions without requiring the merchant to act on a score. The contractual commitment is on outcomes (approval and chargeback rates), not on per-order reimbursement in the same structure as a guarantee model. Dispute management may be available as a separate product.
What this does not change: the merchant still needs to configure the integration, handle edge cases, and maintain a working relationship with the vendor's dispute/chargeback team. Liability mechanics differ from a pure guarantee — verify the exact contractual structure.
Vendors publicly positioning in this model (as of 2026-05-30): Forter.
Risk scoring / decisioning
The vendor returns a fraud score, risk indicators, and/or a recommendation. The merchant's own team — or the merchant's internal rules engine — makes the final approve/decline decision and retains chargeback liability. The vendor provides the intelligence layer; the merchant owns the decision and its consequences.
What this changes operationally: control and tuning sit with the operator. A risk team can override scores, segment decisioning by product or channel, and build custom rules on top of the vendor score. Case management tooling helps analysts review flagged transactions.
What this does not change: the merchant requires internal capacity to act on signals, set thresholds, investigate false positives, and tune decisioning logic. There is no liability transfer; fraud losses remain the merchant's responsibility.
Vendors publicly positioning in this model (as of 2026-05-30): Sift, Kount (Equifax).
What a Guarantee Actually Changes
A commercial guarantee is a promise between the merchant and the vendor. It does not automatically change who the acquirer debits when a cardholder disputes a payment, remove scheme monitoring exposure, or make every order and reason code eligible. Record gross chargebacks, eligible claims, paid credits and unreimbursed losses separately.
Signifyd illustrates why the product name and governing terms matter. Its public standard terms define Eligible Chargebacks through fraud/no-authorisation reason codes and require an affirmative advisory notice plus compliance with claim conditions. They specify a seven-day claim-notification requirement, accurate transaction information and fulfilment conditions, with credits reduced by third-party recoveries. Its Complete Chargeback Protection marketing describes broader non-fraud cover. A broader product page does not establish that every merchant bought that scope.
Before signing, request the actual order form and coverage schedule: eligible payment methods and regions; reason codes; fraud versus INR/SNAD; fulfilment evidence; submission deadline; reimbursable amounts; credit or cash mechanics; recovery clawbacks; exclusions; and who handles the acquirer response. Model the residual loss as well as the fee. The three models are comparison tools, not immutable vendor categories or legal insurance classifications.
Vendor comparison
Important sourcing note. Claims in this table are drawn from vendor product pages accessed 2026-05-30, with Forter's, Sift's, and Signifyd's network-scale figures and ClearSale's row refreshed 2026-08-20 (see
sources[]for exact dates). Vendor positioning, products, and commercial terms change. Re-verify at evaluation time. Marketing performance metrics (detection rates, chargeback-reduction percentages, approval-uplift figures) are excluded from this table — these are vendor-reported, vary by customer base, and are not independent benchmarks. (Approval/false-positive figures vendors do publish are covered, and explicitly attributed as vendor claims, in the head-to-head pairs below.)
| Dimension | Sift | Forter | Riskified | Signifyd | Kount (Equifax) | ClearSale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model (publicly stated) | Risk scoring / decisioning | Managed decisioning | Guarantee / liability-shift | Guarantee / liability-shift | Risk scoring / identity trust | Guarantee / liability-shift (tiered by decision plan) |
| Chargeback liability assumption (liability shift) | No — merchant retains liability | Contractual commitments on approval + chargeback rates; not a per-order insurance model (verify terms) | Contractual reimbursement on eligible individually approved orders; verify conditions | Product-dependent contractual cover; Complete Chargeback Protection markets INR/SNAD cover, while the standard terms define narrower Eligible Chargebacks | No — merchant retains liability | Guarantee marketed on eligible decision plans; obtain the current plan, covered losses, exclusions and claims conditions |
| Who makes the approve/decline call (decisioning approach) | Merchant team acts on score; AI/ML scoring plus a merchant-configurable "Decisioning Engine" for rules | Vendor (automated, real-time AI across identity, behavioral, device, payment signals) | Vendor (approve/decline per order) | Vendor (approve/decline per order); a fraud score is also provided on all traffic | Merchant team acts on score / identity-trust output | Vendor — AI model + fraud rules + database, with human secondary review added at its highest tier |
| Data network (vendor-stated) | Consortium network — 1.04T+ events/year, 700k+ sites & apps (vendor-stated, updated 2026-08-20) | Cross-merchant identity graph — 2B+ identities across 250,000+ storefronts (vendor-stated, updated 2026-08-20) | Ask vendor for a current comparable figure | Signifyd Commerce Network — 98% of purchases from previously-seen consumers (vendor-stated) | Equifax Digital Identity Global Network; Kount 360 platform | "Global fraud database" (vendor-stated); ask for a comparable network-size measure |
| Case management / review / dashboard tooling | Sift Console for investigation and manual review; reporting, case management, and workflow-analysis tools (publicly stated) | "Analytics Agent" auto-assembles transaction context for analysts (publicly stated); separate Dispute Management product for representment — verify scope | Dispute Resolve (representment) and separate Policy Protect; ask for a dashboard demonstration | Ask for a dashboard demonstration | Ask for a dashboard demonstration | Ask for a dashboard demonstration |
| Pricing model | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Fee on approved orders (model publicly stated; rate not disclosed) | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Performance-based — fee on approved orders only, no charge on declines; guarantee plans stated to start "from $250/month" (verify current rate and tier) |
| Vertical / target-segment positioning (general; verify directly) | Broad e-commerce, fintech, marketplaces (explicitly named "Commerce Marketplaces"), digital goods | E-commerce, retail, digital; enterprise focus; states coverage of cards, wallets, BNPL, ACH, gift cards | E-commerce focus; Shopify and enterprise integrations stated | E-commerce, including Shopify; states "largest enterprise merchant network on the market" | Broad; payments, identity, account protection; Equifax integrations | Tiered by product-delivery speed — digital goods, 1hr+ delivery physical goods, 24hr+ delivery, and high-risk/high-chargeback merchants |
| Parent / ownership | Independent | Independent | Independent | Independent | Equifax (acquired) | Independent (verify) |
Evaluating vendors head-to-head
The query that brings most readers to this page is a "vendor A vs vendor B" search — Forter vs Riskified, Signifyd vs Riskified, Sift vs Riskified, Kount vs Signifyd, and the same pairs in reverse order. None of these pairs has a publicly correct answer, because none of the underlying performance numbers are public. What follows is what to evaluate, not who wins.
Dimensions that matter for any pair:
- Decision latency and where the decision sits. Some vendors decide inline at checkout; others return a score your team acts on afterward. This is the operating-model axis covered above, and for a head-to-head it is the first question — it determines whether you are comparing two decision engines or a decision engine against a scoring tool.
- Guarantee vs decisioning-only posture. Does the vendor assume chargeback liability on approved orders, commit contractually to approval/chargeback outcomes, or return a score and leave liability with you? Similar guarantee language can still hide different exclusions and reason-code scope — ask for the full exclusion schedule, not the marketing page.
- Pricing model shape. Fee on approved GMV, per-transaction scoring fee, or a guarantee premium — the shape matters more than any published rate, since none of the five vendors here disclose rates. Evaluate fit against your margin structure, not a number you cannot get anyway.
- Integration surface. Platform/PSP plugin depth versus API-first integration changes time-to-live and maintenance burden. Ask each vendor for their current integration list against your stack — public pages understate this.
- False-positive handling and appeal loops. Ties to the RFP checklist below — a vendor that wins on headline catch rate but has a slow, opaque override process can cost more in blocked good customers than it saves in fraud.
- Data-network scale. Vendors publish network size (identities, sites, signals) as a quality proxy. Treat it as a question to verify at evaluation time, not a comparable metric — vendors define "identity" and "signal" differently, and the figures are vendor-reported.
On the specific pairs: Forter vs Riskified is a managed-decisioning-vs-guarantee comparison, not two versions of the same product — evaluate posture fit, not which vendor "performs better" in the abstract. Signifyd vs Riskified are both guarantee-model vendors; the real evaluation is coverage scope and reason-code exclusions, which sit in the RFP rather than the public page. Sift vs Riskified and Kount vs Signifyd are both risk-scoring-vs-guarantee comparisons — the "vs" query itself usually reflects a model question (own the decision, or transfer it) rather than a feature comparison between comparable products. Riskified vs Forter and Riskified vs Signifyd are the same comparisons in reverse order; query direction doesn't change the evaluation.
None of these pairs should resolve to a declared winner. The honest method is a parallel bake-off on your own traffic, per the methodology below, run against two or more vendors in shadow mode at once — vendor-published performance claims aren't comparable to each other because they're measured against different traffic bases and different definitions of a "catch." Your own numbers, on your own traffic, are the only numbers that resolve a head-to-head.
Five pairs, compared directly
The section above sets out what to evaluate. This section applies it to the five pairings that generate the most direct comparison searches — Forter vs Signifyd, Sift vs Riskified, Forter vs Riskified, Sift vs Signifyd, and Kount vs Riskified — on the specific dimensions those searches ask about: guarantee coverage, approval/false-positive posture, decisioning model, pricing shape, dashboards, and best-fit use case. As above, none of this resolves to a declared winner — vendor-reported figures are marked as such throughout.
Forter vs Signifyd
Guarantee coverage. Signifyd runs a guarantee/liability-shift model: it states its Complete Chargeback Protection covers fraud and non-fraud chargebacks, including INR (item not received) and SNAD (significantly not as described), on approved orders. Forter runs managed decisioning instead of a per-order guarantee — its public materials describe contractual commitments on approval rates, chargeback rates, and response-time SLAs, and Forter itself explicitly contrasts this structure with insurance-style guarantees. If you need INR/SNAD specifically covered by a financial guarantee, Signifyd's public positioning is the closer match; if you want a vendor-run decision engine with outcome-based commitments rather than per-order reimbursement, Forter's is.
Approval-rate and false-positive posture. Signifyd states a "5-9% increase in approvals" for merchants on its guarantee. Forter's public page carries a customer quote stating "our approval rating has gone up," with no percentage attached. Both are vendor claims — Signifyd's is a quantified vendor figure, Forter's is an unquantified customer testimonial; neither is independently audited.
Decisioning model. Forter positions as real-time automated AI decisioning across identity, behavioral, device, and payment signals, protecting "every payment channel" it lists — cards, wallets, BNPL, ACH, and gift cards — and offers an "Analytics Agent" that assembles transaction context for analyst investigation. Signifyd positions as automated risk decisioning that issues a fraud score on all traffic in addition to the approve/decline call.
Pricing model. Neither vendor publicly discloses rates. Forter's structure is a performance-based commitment (not a per-order insurance premium in the same structure as a guarantee fee); Signifyd's is a guarantee fee on approved orders. Evaluate the shape against your margin structure — you will not get a comparable published number from either.
Dashboards and reporting. Forter's cited materials describe its Analytics Agent. The Signifyd source cited here does not set out comparable dashboard detail — ask both vendors to demonstrate their reporting.
Best fit. Forter fits merchants wanting one vendor to run decisioning across a wide payment-method mix (including BNPL and ACH) under outcome-based contractual commitments. Evaluate Signifyd's Complete Chargeback Protection for INR/SNAD needs only after the subscribed product, order form and coverage schedule confirm that entitlement and the claim conditions. Its network positioning does not establish the coverage purchased by a particular merchant.
Sift vs Riskified
Guarantee coverage. These two sit on opposite ends of the liability spectrum. Sift provides scoring and configurable decisioning — Sift returns a score and recommendation; the merchant's team makes the call and keeps the liability. Riskified is a guarantee model — it offers contractual reimbursement for eligible chargebacks on orders it individually reviews and approves, publicly stating "we guarantee approval rates and cover any chargebacks." A Riskified guarantee can reimburse eligible losses; it does not itself remove the merchant's obligations to the acquirer or card network.
Approval-rate and false-positive posture. Sift states a 99.4% acceptance rate, "fewer false positives without sacrificing protection," and 70-72% fewer manual reviews across its public materials and case studies, including one case study citing 6x ROI. These are vendor-reported and case-study-derived figures, not independently audited or necessarily representative of your traffic. Riskified's cited guarantee page describes approval-rate commitments without establishing a current numerical percentage; ask for a contract-specific figure and its method in the RFP.
Decisioning model. Sift combines AI/ML-driven real-time scoring with a merchant-configurable "Decisioning Engine" for building and adapting rules — control sits with your team on top of Sift's models. Riskified's vendor-run engine makes the approve/decline call per order, with Dispute Resolve handling representment on approved-but-disputed orders and Policy Protect as a separate product for policy abuse and friendly fraud.
Pricing model. Neither publishes rates. Sift's shape is a scoring/platform fee (the merchant retains liability, so there is no guarantee premium); Riskified's shape is a fee on approved orders, consistent with its liability-shift structure.
Dashboards and reporting. Sift publicly names a "Sift Console" for investigation and manual review, plus reporting, case management, and workflow-analysis tooling. Riskified positions Dispute Resolve as handling representment on the merchant's behalf. Ask both vendors to demonstrate reporting against your own workflow rather than assuming parity.
Best fit. Sift explicitly names "Commerce Marketplaces" — buyers, sellers, and transactions — as a distinct use case, alongside B2B/B2C software, iGaming, travel, food delivery, and fintech, which makes it a natural fit for merchants with in-house risk capacity operating a marketplace model. Riskified fits merchants — per its existing public positioning, e-commerce with Shopify and enterprise integrations — who want eligible losses contractually reimbursed and dispute representment handled by the vendor rather than owning it internally.
Forter vs Riskified
Guarantee coverage. Riskified is a guarantee model on individually approved orders; Forter is managed decisioning with contractual approval/chargeback-rate and SLA commitments rather than a per-order insurance structure. This is a posture question before it is a performance question — decide whether you want per-order contractual reimbursement (Riskified's public model) or a vendor-run decision engine with outcome commitments (Forter's).
Approval-rate and false-positive posture. Forter's page carries an unquantified customer testimonial that approval rating "has gone up." Riskified's cited guarantee page describes approval-rate commitments without establishing a current numerical percentage. Treat both as vendor-side claims to verify, not comparable numbers.
Decisioning model. Forter's decisioning spans "every payment channel" it lists, including BNPL, ACH, and gift cards in addition to cards and wallets, using automated AI across identity, behavioral, device, and payment signals in real time. Riskified decides per order and separates representment (Dispute Resolve) and policy-abuse/friendly-fraud handling (Policy Protect) into distinct products alongside the core guarantee.
Pricing model. Neither discloses rates. Forter's is a performance-based commitment structure; Riskified's is a fee on approved orders — the guarantee-fee shape typical of liability-shift vendors.
Dashboards and reporting. Forter's Analytics Agent assembles transaction context for analyst investigation. Riskified's Dispute Resolve is positioned as representment handling rather than a general merchant dashboard. Ask both for a reporting demonstration.
Best fit. Forter fits merchants who want multi-payment-channel breadth (BNPL, ACH, wallets, gift cards) under one automated decision engine without a per-order insurance framing. Riskified fits merchants who want explicit per-order contractual reimbursement plus a dedicated representment product and separate abuse-specific coverage — typically e-commerce operators, per its stated Shopify and enterprise integration focus.
Sift vs Signifyd
Guarantee coverage. Sift provides scoring and configurable decisioning — no liability assumption, merchant retains the decision and the chargeback exposure. Signifyd markets INR/SNAD cover through Complete Chargeback Protection. That broader product description is distinct from its narrower standard Eligible Chargeback definition: verify that your subscribed product, order form and coverage schedule include the required non-fraud reason codes and claims conditions.
Approval-rate and false-positive posture. Sift states a 99.4% acceptance rate and 70-72% fewer manual reviews across its public materials. Signifyd states a "5-9% increase in approvals," and separately frames the industry problem it addresses — that fraud accounts for roughly 1% of transactions yet over 10% of orders are routinely rejected defending against it. Both figures are vendor-stated; neither is independently audited.
Decisioning model. Sift pairs AI/ML scoring with a merchant-configurable Decisioning Engine, keeping rule-building control with your team. Signifyd automates the approve/decline call itself and additionally issues a fraud score across all traffic — control sits with Signifyd on guaranteed orders, with the score available as a secondary signal.
Pricing model. Neither vendor publicly discloses rates. Sift's shape is a scoring fee (no guarantee premium, since liability stays with the merchant); Signifyd's shape is a guarantee fee on approved orders.
Dashboards and reporting. Sift's cited materials describe its Console, case management and workflow analysis. Ask Signifyd for a comparable dashboard demonstration.
Best fit. Sift's explicit "Commerce Marketplaces" segment (buyers, sellers, and transactions) makes it a natural evaluation candidate for marketplace merchants with in-house risk capacity. Signifyd's Complete Chargeback Protection is a candidate where non-fraud cover is required, provided the subscribed product, order form and coverage schedule establish that entitlement. Network-size positioning does not itself establish coverage or performance for your traffic.
Kount vs Riskified
Guarantee coverage. This is the most structurally different pair on this page, not a close call between similar products. Kount (Equifax) is risk-scoring / identity-trust: Kount 360 is publicly positioned around AI- and machine-learning-driven scoring, with no chargeback guarantee stated in Equifax's own materials — the merchant's team or rules engine makes the final approve/decline call and keeps the chargeback liability. Riskified is a guarantee model: it offers contractual reimbursement for eligible losses on individually reviewed and approved orders, publicly stating "we guarantee approval rates and cover any chargebacks." A search for "Kount vs Riskified" is usually really asking whether to keep the decision (and the liability) in-house or transfer it — not which vendor scores transactions more accurately.
Approval-rate and false-positive posture. Riskified's cited materials describe an approval-rate service-level commitment alongside its guarantee on approved orders, without establishing a current percentage. Equifax's cited Kount release gives no comparable approval-rate or false-positive figure. Request each vendor's methodology and a pilot on your own traffic.
Decisioning model. Kount 360 runs supervised and unsupervised machine-learning models to contextualize transaction data and produce a risk score, with capabilities Equifax's own announcement describes as "automated or adjusted to fit the needs of a business" — the merchant chooses how much of that automation to trust versus routing cases to analyst review. Riskified decides per order directly, with a dedicated Dispute Resolve product handling representment on approved-but-disputed orders and Policy Protect sold separately for policy abuse and friendly fraud.
Pricing model. Neither vendor's cited public materials provide comparable rates. The cited Equifax Kount release does not specify whether pricing takes the form of a scoring, subscription or platform fee; ask directly. Riskified describes a fee charged per approved order, consistent with its liability-shift structure and its stated incentive to approve accurately rather than over-decline, since it bears the cost of an approval that turns into fraud.
Dashboards and reporting. Equifax's Kount 360 release describes "an intuitive single user interface" for analysts to build and deploy rules. Riskified positions Dispute Resolve as handling representment on the merchant's behalf. Ask both vendors to demonstrate case management and reporting directly.
Best fit. Kount fits merchants who want to keep the decision and its liability in-house — typically because they already have, or are building, risk-team capacity to act on scores — and for whom the Equifax identity-data lineage is a plus rather than a data-sharing question to resolve first. Riskified fits merchants who want eligible per-order losses reimbursed and representment handled by the vendor, typically e-commerce operators without the internal capacity or appetite to own chargeback outcomes directly. This pairing rarely resolves on features; it resolves on whether your organisation wants to own the decision at all.
What public pages do not tell you — and what to ask in the RFP
The comparison table captures publicly verifiable positioning. The following dimensions determine day-to-day operational reality and financial exposure — and none are available from product pages. Take these as your RFP checklist.
Liability scope and exclusions What categories of chargeback are excluded from the guarantee or contractual commitment? Common exclusion areas: orders the vendor declined but the merchant approved via override; orders placed using the merchant's own gift cards or credits; transactions in specific geographies; orders that failed to meet data submission requirements. Ask for the full exclusion schedule in writing.
Covered vs non-covered chargeback reason codes Signifyd markets INR/SNAD protection in its Complete Chargeback Protection product; its standard public terms define an Eligible Chargeback more narrowly by fraud/no-authorisation and eligible reason code. Confirm the subscribed product and governing order form. Riskified's pages reference "any chargebacks" with specific exclusions in their support documentation. Neither publishes a full reason-code coverage matrix. For risk-scoring models (Sift, Kount), the merchant bears all liability regardless of reason code — the question shifts to how the score integrates with your dispute operations. Ask each guarantee/decisioning vendor for a complete list of covered Visa and Mastercard reason codes.
First-party fraud and friendly fraud First-party fraud — a customer making a legitimate purchase and then disputing it — is typically the hardest category to cover under a standard fraud guarantee, because it generates a chargeback with a dispute reason code that looks like the customer never authorised the transaction. Riskified markets Policy Protect separately for abuse-related use cases; that product name does not establish the core guarantee's reason-code entitlement. Ask vendors explicitly whether first-party fraud chargebacks are covered, and under what evidentiary standard they will contest a dispute filed by a returning customer.
INR, service disputes, refund abuse, and policy abuse Item Not Received (INR) and Significantly Not As Described (SNAD) generate chargebacks under non-fraud reason codes and require different evidence to contest. Refund abuse (requesting a refund after consuming goods or services) and policy abuse (exploiting return/cancellation policies) may not generate chargebacks at all — they affect refund rates and margin, not chargeback ratios. Verify which products within each vendor's portfolio cover which abuse type, and what the operational handoff looks like.
Merchant override rights Can you approve a transaction the vendor has declined? For guarantee models, overriding a vendor decline typically removes the guarantee on that order — the liability remains with the merchant. The commercial terms around overrides (how many, which categories, what documentation) are not on product pages. For managed-decisioning models, the override architecture is similarly RFP-level.
Who owns representment and evidence submission Riskified's Dispute Resolve explicitly positions as handling representment on the merchant's behalf. Forter has a Dispute Management product. For risk-scoring models, representment remains the merchant's responsibility — assess your internal chargeback team capacity against the expected dispute volume your platform choice creates. Ask each vendor what their representment win rate is for their managed service, and how they handle disputes in markets where you do not have a local entity.
SLA and support model Response time SLAs for transaction decisions are listed by some vendors; support SLAs for operational issues, escalations, and dispute handling are not. Implementation support depth (dedicated CSM, self-serve documentation, managed onboarding) varies and directly affects time-to-live and post-launch fraud coverage.
Regional and data privacy considerations GDPR, CCPA, and local data residency requirements affect what data can be shared with a US-headquartered vendor, how model training data is used, and whether EU-specific product versions are available. Kount's Equifax lineage adds credit-bureau data questions in some jurisdictions. Verify the vendor's data processing agreements, sub-processor lists, and regional product coverage before finalising contracts for non-US markets.
Feedback loop from chargebacks, refunds, and disputes How quickly does chargeback and dispute outcome data flow back into the vendor's model to improve future decisions? For guarantee models, the vendor absorbs the loss and is self-incentivised to close the loop. For risk-scoring models, closing the feedback loop requires the merchant to push dispute outcome data back to the vendor — verify the data ingestion mechanism and the lag between dispute resolution and model update. A slow feedback loop on a high-velocity fraud pattern is a direct gap.
How to run a fraud platform bake-off
Vendor case studies are marketing artefacts. A bake-off gives you your own numbers against your traffic base.
Before you start: establish baselines. Run your current fraud stack for at least 30 days before the bake-off and capture: fraud loss rate (basis points of GMV), chargeback ratio by count and by value, approval rate on attempted transactions, manual review rate, false-positive rate (sample-reviewed legitimate orders incorrectly flagged), dispute win rate by reason code, and average order value by channel. These are your comparison denominator. Without them, you are comparing against vendor marketing materials — not against your own operation.
Shadow-mode testing. Run the new platform in shadow mode: it receives your transaction data and makes decisions, but your existing system retains the live decision. Capture the shadow platform's approve/decline recommendations alongside your live decisions. Compare outcomes over a full dispute cycle (typically 90–120 days for chargebacks to resolve) before cutting over any live traffic.
Segment everything. Do not evaluate on blended metrics. Segment by: geographic region (fraud patterns differ materially by market); BIN range (issuer region affects false-positive rates); product type (digital goods vs physical goods have different fraud profiles); traffic source (direct vs affiliate vs marketplace); customer age (new vs returning — new account fraud and first-party fraud cluster differently); and transaction size band. A platform that outperforms on blended approval rate but underperforms on new-customer conversion in your highest-growth market has a negative net impact on the business you care about.
False-positive review. Assign an analyst to manually review a sample of orders the shadow platform declines — especially orders your current system approves. This is the only way to get a false-positive rate estimate that is not vendor-reported. Expect this to be the most resource-intensive part of the bake-off, and the most important for understanding the actual customer experience impact.
Manual-review workload. For risk-scoring platforms, measure the volume of transactions that land in the manual review queue (below the auto-approve threshold, above the auto-decline threshold). If the bake-off platform generates significantly more manual-review volume than your current setup, account for the analyst time this creates before calculating net benefit.
Chargeback feedback loop. Do not cut the bake-off at 30 days. Fraud detection accuracy only becomes visible when the dispute cycle closes — Visa's chargeback window is typically 120 days from the transaction date, and SEPA dispute windows differ further. Run the shadow phase long enough to see outcome data on transactions, not just decision data.
Do not rely only on vendor case studies. Vendor case studies select for successful deployments in comparable verticals. They represent the vendor's best results, not your likely results. Use them to understand the ceiling; use your own bake-off data to understand the floor.
Selection matrix by merchant archetype
| Archetype | Operating model fit | Rationale |
|---|---|---|
| Lean merchant, no in-house fraud team | Guarantee or managed decisioning | No internal capacity to act on scores; outsourced decision reduces operational risk. Guarantee model makes fraud cost predictable. |
| Mature risk team with analyst capacity | Risk scoring / decisioning | Team can act on scores, tune rules, and investigate false positives. Control and customisation are worth more than the predictability premium. |
| High-margin digital goods | Risk scoring or guarantee — depends on fraud rate | High margins can absorb guarantee fees if fraud is hard to detect. If fraud rate is already low, risk-scoring may be more economical. Digital goods have higher first-party fraud and policy-abuse exposure — confirm how the model handles these. |
| Low-margin retail | Careful evaluation of guarantee fee economics | Guarantee fee as a percentage of approved GMV may compress margin more than the fraud loss it replaces. Model the break-even explicitly: if your fraud loss rate is X basis points and the guarantee fee is Y, the compare Y plus residual losses and operating costs with X plus current operations, including any measured approval impact. |
| Marketplace | Risk scoring — or guarantee with clear seller-vs-buyer coverage scope | Marketplace fraud patterns (seller-initiated fraud, buyer collusion, refund abuse) may not fit standard guarantee models. Verify whether the vendor's model covers transactions where the merchant is not the seller of goods. |
| High first-party fraud exposure | Ask about first-party fraud handling explicitly before choosing any model | First-party fraud generates chargebacks that look like unauthorised transactions. Standard fraud guarantees may not cover these. Vendors with dedicated policy-abuse or friendly-fraud products (such as Riskified's Policy Protect) address this separately. Do not assume first-party fraud is covered under a standard guarantee. |
What this article does not cover
Performance numbers — detection rates, approval-uplift percentages, chargeback-reduction statistics — are absent by design. All published figures in this space are vendor-reported, vary by customer base and traffic mix, and are not independently audited. Using them to compare vendors would give false precision. Your bake-off methodology produces the only numbers that are valid for your business.
Pricing is not covered because no vendor publicly discloses pricing in sufficient detail to compare. Guarantee fees as a percentage of approved GMV, scoring fees per transaction, and enterprise contract structures require direct vendor engagement.
For the mechanics of how fraud detection models work under any of these platforms, see real-time fraud decisioning, rule engines vs ML hybrid architecture, and AI fraud detection in 2026.
For how to measure your fraud operations once a platform is in place, see the fraud operations KPI scorecard.
For understanding the chargeback exposure that platform selection affects, see chargeback operations KPIs and the true cost of a chargeback.
For the dispute-side counterpart to this guide — alert networks, representment automation, and managed recovery compared by operating model — see how to compare chargeback management platforms.
Sources & methodology (29)
Signifyd standard terms define Eligible Chargebacks, affirmative advice, notice and fulfilment conditions, and chargeback credits; broader product coverage requires its governing terms
Checked:
Sift publicly positions as a risk-scoring/decisioning platform; merchants act on Sift's real-time risk scores rather than Sift assuming chargeback liability
Checked:
Sift references a global network of over 1 trillion data signals across 34k+ sites and apps as the basis for its risk scores
Vendor-stated figure; not independently verified
Checked:
Forter publicly positions as automated/managed real-time decisioning; vendor materials state it offers guaranteed results on fraud chargebacks, approval rates, and response time SLAs
Checked:
Forter's public materials explicitly contrast its model with fraud insurance, framing its guarantee as covering both approval rates and chargeback rates rather than reimbursing after the fact
Checked:
Forter references 1.2B+ identities in a cross-merchant dataset as the basis for its decision engine
Vendor-stated figure; not independently verified
Checked:
Riskified publicly positions its chargeback guarantee as: 'Pay only for approved orders that generate revenue. We guarantee approval rates and cover any chargebacks.' Only individually approved orders are guaranteed.
Checked:
Riskified Dispute Resolve publicly positions as handling representment — automatically collecting compelling evidence and managing chargeback disputes on behalf of merchants
Checked:
Riskified Policy Protect is a separate product for policy abuse and friendly fraud; it is not part of the core chargeback guarantee
Checked:
Signifyd publicly positions its Complete Chargeback Protection as providing a financial guarantee against fraud and non-fraud chargebacks including INR and SNAD on all approved orders
Checked:
Signifyd references the Signifyd Commerce Network as a data foundation for its guarantee model
Checked:
Kount operates as part of Equifax following acquisition; the Kount 360 platform positions as AI-driven identity trust and fraud scoring; no chargeback guarantee is publicly stated
Checked:
Verifi's pre-dispute products (Order Insight and related tools) operate before a chargeback is filed, sharing order data with issuers to resolve a dispute inquiry at the point of customer contact; positioned as a Visa network program accessed via the merchant or acquirer, not standalone merchant SaaS
Checked:
Ethoca Alerts is a Mastercard network program connecting merchants, acquirers, and issuers to share fraud and dispute data before a chargeback is filed, enabling the merchant to resolve the case pre-chargeback (e.g., via refund)
Checked:
Chargeflow publicly positions as merchant-configured, automated software that contests chargebacks after they have already been filed (representment), on contingency-only pricing
Checked:
Justt publicly positions as AI-powered representment automation operating after a chargeback has been filed, with contingency-only pricing (fee charged only on successful recovery)
Checked:
Chargebacks911 publicly positions as a team-led, full-service managed chargeback/representment operation rather than self-serve software, operating on chargebacks that have already been filed
The dated source supports the product positioning stated here; verify its current scope at evaluation time
Checked:
Forter's public network figure now states 2 billion+ identities across 250,000+ storefronts, superseding the 1.2B+ identities figure sourced 2026-05-30
Vendor-stated figure; not independently verified
Checked:
Forter's 'Analytics Agent' automatically assembles transaction context and surfaces the signals analysts need, positioned as an investigation/reporting aid for the merchant's fraud team
Checked:
Forter states its platform protects 'every payment channel' including cards, wallets, BNPL, ACH, and gift cards, and shows customers spanning food delivery, retail, travel, and marketplaces
Checked:
Signifyd states a '5-9% increase in approvals' for merchants using its guarantee, and separately states that industry-wide, over 10% of orders are routinely rejected in defense of fraud despite fraud accounting for roughly 1% of transactions
Vendor-stated approval-uplift figure; not independently verified
Checked:
Signifyd states 98% of online purchases are made by consumers previously seen across the Signifyd Commerce Network, and positions itself as having 'the largest enterprise merchant network on the market'
Vendor-stated figures; not independently verified
Checked:
Sift states a 99.4% acceptance rate, fewer false positives 'without sacrificing protection', and 70-72% fewer manual reviews in its public materials and case studies, including a case study citing 6x ROI
Vendor-stated and case-study-derived figures; not independently verified and not necessarily representative of all merchants
Checked:
Sift describes a 'Decisioning Engine' for building rules and adapting risk strategy in real time on top of AI/ML-driven scoring, and explicitly names 'Commerce Marketplaces' (buyers, sellers, and transactions) as a distinct use-case segment alongside e-commerce, B2B/B2C software, iGaming, travel, food delivery, and fintech
Checked:
Sift's current public network figure states 1.04 trillion events evaluated annually across 700,000+ sites and apps, superseding the 1T+ signals / 34k+ sites figure sourced 2026-05-30
Vendor-stated figure; not independently verified
Checked:
ClearSale publicly describes a three-tier decisioning model: 'Instant Decision' (AI model, fraud rules, global database), 'Automatic Decision' (adds external sources), and 'Complete Decision' (adds human secondary review) — tiered by product delivery speed (digital goods vs 1hr+ vs 24hr+ physical delivery)
Checked:
ClearSale states its pricing is performance-based — 'pricing is based on approved transactions and fraud performance outcomes' with no charge on declined orders — and states Chargeback Guarantee plans start 'from $250/month'
Vendor-disclosed starting price; verify current rate and tier eligibility at evaluation time
Checked:
Kount 360 (Equifax) uses supervised and unsupervised machine-learning models to contextualize transaction data and produce a risk score, with capabilities described as 'automated or adjusted to fit the needs of a business,' delivered through 'an intuitive single user interface' for rules deployment; no chargeback guarantee or liability-shift language appears in this release
Equifax's own release, distributed via PR Newswire
Checked:
Riskified's own explainer content describes an approval-rate service-level structure alongside its chargeback guarantee, and states its fee is charged per approved order, which it frames as an incentive to approve accurately rather than over-decline
The cited page does not establish a current numerical approval-rate commitment; no percentage is asserted here
Checked:
Source types explained in our Methodology.