Card Scheme Fees Demystified: What's Inside the MDR
MDR = interchange + scheme fees + acquirer margin. Scheme fees hold 30+ line items; UK's PSR found over 30% real-terms growth, 2017/18–2021/22.
Card MDR stacks interchange, scheme fees (30+ line items; UK PSR found over 30% real-terms growth, 2017/18–2021/22), and acquirer margin — scheme fees are the fastest-growing, least-transparent layer, but LCR, surcharging, and interchange-plus pricing cut real cost.
The MDR on your acquiring statement is not one fee. It is three stacked cost layers presented as a single percentage. Most operators know this in principle but few have mapped the full stack — particularly the scheme fees layer, which has grown faster than any other component and is both the least transparent and, increasingly, the most actionable for operators with volume.
This article dissects the full MDR stack, explains how scheme fees work in practice, quantifies how much they've grown, and gives operators a concrete framework for reducing exposure.
The Three-Layer MDR Stack
A card transaction fee paid by a merchant to their acquirer breaks down into:
Layer 1: Interchange — the fee paid to the card issuing bank. Interchange is set by the card networks (Visa, Mastercard) and varies by card type (consumer, commercial, premium rewards), transaction type (card-present, card-not-present, recurring), and geography. In the EU, interchange is regulated at 0.2% for consumer debit and 0.3% for consumer credit under the Interchange Fee Regulation (IFR), applicable to domestic and intra-EEA consumer card transactions only — commercial cards and non-EEA issuers are not capped. In the US, debit interchange splits along the Durbin Amendment line: cards issued by banks with $10B+ in assets are Durbin-regulated and capped at $0.21 + 0.05% of the transaction, plus a further $0.01 fraud-prevention adjustment for issuers that meet the Fed's fraud-prevention standards. On a $50 ticket that ceiling is $0.21 + (0.05% × $50 = $0.025) + $0.01 = $0.245, not the ~$0.22 sometimes quoted from an incomplete sum. Cards from issuers under $10B are Durbin-exempt and are not subject to the regulated cap. Credit interchange is unregulated for all US issuers. Visa and Mastercard do not publish their full interchange and fee schedules in a form that supports citing precise unregulated Durbin-exempt debit or premium-credit rates with confidence — published third-party estimates vary too widely across sources to state a specific range here without repeating that same sourcing problem. Every regulated market caps interchange through a different mechanism and with different carve-outs — see interchange regulation by market for how the EU, UK, US, Australia, Brazil, and India regimes actually differ, and where each one stops applying.
Layer 2: Scheme fees — fees paid to the card networks themselves (Visa and Mastercard as network operators). Scheme fees are separate from interchange, assessed on top of it, and paid by the acquirer — who passes them through to the merchant either blended into a flat MDR or itemized in interchange-plus pricing. This layer is the subject of this article and the most opaque part of the stack.
Layer 3: Acquirer margin — the processor's profit on the transaction. In a blended MDR model, this is invisible to the merchant. In interchange-plus pricing, it's stated as a markup (e.g., "interchange + 0.25% + $0.10"). Acquirer margins vary by merchant size, risk profile, and bargaining power.
Scheme Fees: The 30+ Line Item Reality
Visa and Mastercard set their scheme and processing fees out for their own customers — the acquirers and issuers they bill — through account managers and the schemes' online portals, rather than on their public websites. PaymentBrief found no public copy of either scheme's full fee schedule. What the UK regulator found is that even the customers who do receive this information struggle with it: the PSR's market review concluded that the information acquirers receive from Mastercard and Visa "can be insufficient to understand the fees they are charged", with acquirers reporting difficulty accessing relevant information through the schemes' own portals. That is why a merchant, one step further down the chain, rarely sees a full breakdown.
Based on publicly available information from regulatory proceedings (particularly the UK Competition and Markets Authority investigations, EU Commission proceedings, and US merchant litigation disclosures), the scheme fee structure includes:
Assessment Fees (Base Network Charge)
The baseline: Visa charges approximately 0.14% and Mastercard approximately 0.13% on US domestic transaction volume. These are the "base" scheme fees — every Visa or Mastercard transaction incurs them.
In the EU, base assessments are lower due to the regulatory environment but still apply; neither network publishes an authoritative EU base-assessment rate, so no specific percentage is stated here.
Cross-Border Fees
Cross-border scheme fees apply when the merchant's country differs from the cardholder's card issuer country. The published tiers key off whether the transaction requires currency conversion, not the region pairing of merchant and issuer:
- Visa International Service Assessment (ISA): approximately 0.80% when the transaction settles without currency conversion; approximately 1.20% when currency conversion occurs
- Mastercard's equivalent cross-border assessment: approximately 0.60% (no conversion) / 1.00% (with conversion)
- On top of the scheme's own assessment, acquirers typically add a separate program fee of roughly 0.45–0.85%, which is easy to miss when estimating total cross-border cost from the scheme assessment alone
Cross-border fees are the largest single line item in scheme fees for merchants with internationally distributed customers. An e-commerce merchant in the United Kingdom processing payments from customers across Europe faces cross-border assessments on non-UK cards, and currency conversion — not simply crossing a border — is what moves a transaction from the lower tier to the higher one. Post-Brexit, UK-issued cards falling outside the EEA's regulated domestic scope attract the cross-border assessment from EU-based merchants and vice versa — a direct cost increase that resulted from the UK leaving the EU payment regulation framework.
Digital Enablement and Technology Fees
Visa and Mastercard have introduced a proliferation of technology-related fees since 2018:
- Digital Enablement Fee (Visa): Applied to card-not-present transactions; Visa does not publish this rate publicly, so no specific percentage is stated here.
- Acquirer Brand Volume Fee / Acquirer License Fee (Mastercard); Network Access and Brand Usage Fees (Visa): Per-transaction fees the schemes charge acquirers, passed through to merchants.
- Network Access and Brand Usage Fee: Applied per authorization, typically fractions of a cent.
- Fixed Acquirer Network Fee (FANF — Visa): A monthly fixed fee based on merchant category and payment volume, applied to both card-present and card-not-present, with separate components for each.
- Location-Based Fees (Visa): Monthly fees tied to the number of merchant locations — relevant for physical retail chains.
The proliferation of these line items reflects a deliberate strategy by the networks to diversify revenue away from percentage-based fees (which regulators have targeted) into fixed fees and technology fees that are harder to regulate.
Scheme Fees on Specific Transaction Types
Additional fees apply to specific transaction categories:
- Recurring transaction fee: Both Visa and Mastercard charge incremental fees on recurring/subscription transactions. Mastercard's Recurring Payment Indicator fee is applied per recurring authorization.
- International service assessment (Visa ISA): Applied to cross-border credit transactions above certain thresholds.
- Misuse of Authorization fee: Applied when an authorization is approved but no corresponding clearing message follows (or, on debit, when a reversal isn't sent within ~24 hours) — operationally relevant for pre-authorization use cases like hotels and car rentals.
- Chargeback-related fees: Both networks charge per-chargeback fees and may apply monitoring program fees to merchants with elevated dispute rates.
How Much Have Scheme Fees Grown?
Scheme fees have grown substantially over the past several years, though the precise aggregate growth rate is hard to pin down from a single authoritative source. The most citable figure comes from the UK: the Payment Systems Regulator's market review found that Visa and Mastercard's core scheme and processing fees to acquirers grew by more than 30% in real terms over 2017/18–2021/22 — a UK-regulated-market finding, not a global one. A separate, frequently-cited claim — that Merchants Payments Coalition analysis shows US Visa/Mastercard "network fees" (distinct from interchange) growing from ~$7.7 billion in 2019 to over $10 billion by 2023 — could not be traced to any Merchants Payments Coalition publication; MPC's actual published series tracks total card swipe fees (interchange plus network fees combined, reaching approximately $100.77 billion for Visa/Mastercard credit alone in 2023), not a standalone network-fee series, so that figure is omitted here rather than restated. The EU Commission's investigation into Visa fees in 2019–2021 documented multiple fee increases that were introduced without regulatory oversight, though the Commission has not published a single aggregate growth percentage.
The growth mechanism is layered: networks introduce new fee categories, increase rates on existing categories, and adjust the applicability criteria to capture previously excluded transaction types. Because the full fee schedule is not publicly published, merchants cannot benchmark against a reference — they can only compare their own statements over time.
What Operators Can Do
Scheme fees are not fully controllable, but operators with meaningful card volume have several levers:
Least-Cost Routing (LCR)
Least-cost routing is the most impactful scheme fee reduction lever for merchants processing debit card transactions. In markets where multiple debit networks are available (notably Australia, and the US for Durbin-regulated debit), a merchant can route debit transactions through the lower-cost network rather than always routing through Visa or Mastercard.
In Australia, the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) has never mandated LCR — it has run a non-binding "expectations" approach since first encouraging industry adoption in 2017. In 2021, the RBA set a general expectation that payment service providers offer and promote LCR for both in-person and online transactions; a narrower 2022 expectation addressed mobile wallet transactions specifically, targeting availability by end-2024 — a different scope than the 2021 expectation, and not itself a mandate. The RBA's 31 March 2026 Conclusions Paper reaffirmed the non-binding approach, finding "there is not a strong case for a formal regulatory requirement to enable LCR in the in-person environment" and maintaining "the status quo with the 'expectations' approach" rather than legislating one. Merchants with enabled LCR infrastructure route eligible transactions through eftpos (the domestic Australian network) rather than Visa Debit or Debit Mastercard. Eftpos scheme fees are materially lower than Visa/Mastercard scheme fees. Merchant-savings estimates vary by source and methodology: CMSPI has estimated roughly AUD 800 million in annual merchant savings from LCR; eftpos's own 2021 submission to the RBA estimated approximately AUD 296 million in interchange savings plus a further ~AUD 300 million in scheme-fee savings under default LCR; and the RBA's own April 2024 Bulletin research found debit acceptance costs were nearly 20% lower for merchants with LCR enabled than for those without. No Australian Banking Association publication was found supporting a distinct AUD 500 million+ estimate, so that figure is omitted rather than repeated.
In the US, the Durbin Amendment requires that debit cards be enabled on at least two unaffiliated networks. The lower-cost PIN debit networks merchants can route through include STAR, Pulse (Discover), NYCE, Shazam, and Accel — note that Interlink (owned by Visa) and Maestro (owned by Mastercard) belong to the schemes themselves and don't deliver the same routing savings. Realising the savings requires PIN entry capability or PINless-debit support at checkout plus acquirer-side LCR configuration; many merchants are technically eligible but operationally not configured.
Surcharging and Payment Method Steering
Surcharging — passing the card acceptance cost to the cardholder as a separate line item — is legal in most US states (following the Visa/Mastercard surcharging settlement) and in many other markets. Where legal, it shifts scheme fee economics by making the cost visible to the consumer and creating an incentive to use lower-cost payment methods.
The practical limit: surcharging can drive customers to competing merchants who absorb the cost. It is most effective in markets with low price sensitivity or where the operator has pricing power — utilities, government payments, B2B payments.
Payment method steering — actively presenting lower-cost options (bank transfer, debit) before higher-cost options (credit, rewards) at checkout — is a legal alternative to surcharging in most markets. Amazon's checkout implementation in markets where it offers bank transfer as a discounted option is an example: the cost differential is absorbed by the merchant in lower fees but recovered through consumer incentive (a discount for non-card payment).
Interchange Optimization
While interchange is technically distinct from scheme fees, the two are addressed together by operators optimizing total card acceptance cost. Interchange optimization focuses on:
- Card-present vs card-not-present rates: CNP transactions attract higher interchange in most markets. For operators with physical presence, ensuring chip-and-PIN or contactless capture reduces interchange versus keyed-in CNP rates.
- Transaction data quality: Submitting Level 2 and Level 3 data (line-item purchase detail) with B2B card transactions is standard processor practice aimed at lower interchange in the US — but it is a processor practice, not a documented scheme rule an operator can verify independently. The criteria that decide which fields move a transaction between interchange tiers sit in Visa's Interchange Reimbursement Fee rate qualification guide, which Visa's own Core Rules and public interchange table point to and of which PaymentBrief found no public copy. Visa's public U.S. interchange table does show separate, differently-priced commercial and purchasing-card tiers — confirming the tiers exist — and in that same table "Non-Qualified" and "Non-Qualified with Data" both price at 2.95% + $0.10, a striking pairing that shows data submission alone didn't separate those two categories. That single pairing doesn't settle the general question of whether Level 2/3 data lowers interchange elsewhere in the table — treat it as one data point, not a verdict. Rather than assuming a published discount, check your own processor's Level 2/3-qualified rate against your standard corporate rate on your actual statements.
- Recurring transaction indicators: Properly flagging recurring transactions in authorization requests ensures they receive the correct recurring interchange rate, which in some card categories is lower than standard rates.
Volume-Based Scheme Fee Tiers
Both Visa and Mastercard offer volume-based fee tiers for high-volume merchants. These are negotiated directly with the networks by large merchants or through acquirers who aggregate volume, case by case, with no publicly documented volume threshold — putting them out of reach for most operators regardless of the exact cutoff. But for enterprise-scale merchants, direct network agreements covering scheme fee caps or volume rebates are a legitimate cost reduction tool.
Interchange-Plus vs Blended Pricing
Operators who pay blended MDR (a single percentage that bundles all three layers) cannot see scheme fee line items and cannot measure whether scheme fees are being passed through at cost. Switching to interchange-plus pricing makes scheme fees visible:
- You see actual interchange on each transaction (varies by card type)
- You see actual scheme fees (varies by transaction type, geography)
- You pay a fixed acquirer margin on top
Interchange-plus pricing is almost always cheaper than blended for operators with high-volume, mixed-card environments. The transparency also enables the optimization steps above — you can measure whether LCR routing changes, Level 3 data submission, or recurring flag optimization is actually reducing cost.
What This Means for Operators
Scheme fees are the fastest-growing and least transparent component of card acceptance cost. They will continue to grow — the networks have demonstrated consistent ability to introduce new fee categories and increase existing rates without regulatory intervention in most markets.
The priority actions by operator scale:
Under $10M annual card volume: Switch to interchange-plus pricing from your acquirer. This is the single highest-ROI action. Blended pricing obscures cost and prevents optimization.
$10M–$100M: Implement interchange-plus, activate LCR for debit if in Australia or US, check whether Level 2/3 data submission on B2B transactions is actually lowering your rate on your own processor statements — it's standard practice, but Visa doesn't publish the qualification criteria, so verify rather than assume — audit your cross-border card volume to understand the cross-border fee exposure (and consider whether local acquiring reduces it).
$100M+: Direct acquirer negotiation for scheme fee pass-through at cost rather than markup, investigation of direct network agreements, active LCR implementation, and scheme fee audit against published network schedules to identify miscategorized transactions.
The cost reduction potential varies by business model, but operators with >50% cross-border card volume or >30% commercial card volume in the US have the highest scheme fee exposure and the most to gain from systematic optimization.
Sources & methodology (11)
Regulation II debit interchange cap: an issuer's interchange fee may not exceed $0.21 plus 0.05% of the transaction value, plus a further $0.01 fraud-prevention adjustment for issuers that meet the Board's fraud-prevention standards — on a $50 ticket that is $0.21 + $0.025 + $0.01 = $0.245
Checked:
The RBA has never mandated least-cost routing; its 31 March 2026 Conclusions Paper reaffirms a non-binding 'expectations' approach, stating 'there is not a strong case for a formal regulatory requirement to enable LCR in the in-person environment' and maintaining 'the status quo with the "expectations" approach'. The RBA's own expectations timeline: industry encouragement began 2017; a general in-person/online LCR expectation was set in 2021; a narrower 2022 expectation addressed mobile wallet transactions specifically, targeting end-2024 availability
Checked:
RBA research (using merchant-level data) found the cost of accepting debit card transactions is nearly 20% lower for merchants with LCR enabled compared with those without
Checked:
CMSPI has estimated approximately AUD 800 million in annual merchant savings available from least-cost routing in Australia; a distinct AUD 500 million+ figure attributed to the Australian Banking Association could not be located in any ABA publication and is not used
CMSPI is a payments consultancy commissioned/cited across the industry, not the RBA or ABA itself — treated as a secondary estimate, not a regulator figure
Checked:
eftpos Payments Australia's July 2021 submission to the RBA's Review of Retail Payments Regulation estimated approximately AUD 296 million in annual interchange savings from default LCR, plus a further ~AUD 300 million in scheme-fee savings
eftpos is a commercially interested party (the domestic network LCR routes traffic to) — its own savings estimate, not an independent one
Checked:
The PSR's market review of card scheme and processing fees found that 'the information that acquirers receive from Mastercard and Visa can be insufficient to understand the fees they are charged', and reported 'Acquirers reporting difficulty in accessing relevant information through online portals provided and operated by the card schemes'. It concluded that acquirers' abilities to access, assess and act on relevant pricing information is below what would be expected in a well-functioning market
Acquirer-facing fee information: insufficient and hard to access
Evidence about the quality of the information the schemes give their own customers. It is not evidence that the full fee schedules are contractually confidential, and this article no longer says they are.
Checked:
UK Payment Systems Regulator market review found Visa and Mastercard's core scheme and processing fees to acquirers grew by more than 30% in real terms over 2017/18–2021/22
Checked:
A widely-repeated claim that Merchants Payments Coalition analysis shows Visa/Mastercard 'network fees' (separate from interchange) grew from ~$7.7bn (2019) to over $10bn (2023) could not be traced to any MPC publication; MPC's own published series tracks total card swipe fees (interchange plus network fees combined) — approximately $100.77 billion for Visa/Mastercard credit cards alone in 2023 — not a standalone network-fee series
Cited to demonstrate what MPC's series actually measures, not to support the retired $7.7bn/$10bn network-fee figure, which is omitted
Checked:
Cross-border scheme assessments key off whether currency conversion occurs, not the merchant/issuer region pairing: Visa's International Service Assessment runs approximately 0.80% (no conversion) / 1.20% (with conversion); Mastercard's equivalent runs approximately 0.60% / 1.00%. Acquirers typically layer a separate program fee of roughly 0.45–0.85% on top
Checked:
Visa's public U.S. Corporate and Purchasing Interchange Fees table (rates effective 18 April 2026) lists named commercial/purchasing tiers — including Commercial Card Present, Commercial Card Not Present, and Commercial Travel Service — at different rates; in the same table, 'Non-Qualified' and 'Non-Qualified with Data' both price at 2.95% + $0.10, an identical rate. The table does not state the criteria that sort a transaction into a given tier
Confirms the named tiers and the identical Non-Qualified / Non-Qualified with Data rate; does not state which submitted data fields move a transaction between tiers — that criteria sits in a separate, non-public document (see next source)
Checked:
"A Transaction must meet the qualifications defined in the Visa Rules and in the applicable Interchange Reimbursement Fee rate qualification guide to qualify for a particular Interchange Reimbursement Fee."
Confirms the interchange qualification criteria live in a separate rate qualification guide, not in the public Core Rules or the public interchange table; PaymentBrief could not check that guide itself
Checked:
Source types explained in our Methodology.