Skip to content
Global Payments 10 min read

Mastercard Wallet Pay Explained: What Is New, What Was Already Live, and How It Works

Mastercard Wallet Pay, announced 9 September 2026: the eight products it covers, what was already live, how account tokenization works and what is unannounced.

PB
By Shaun Toh
TL;DR

Mastercard Wallet Pay, announced 9 September 2026, is a name for eight wallet products, some already live. Its namesake piece tokenizes a wallet account so users can pay where Mastercard is accepted, with no physical card. No launch dates or pricing are published.

Operator Summary

Mastercard Wallet Pay is a name Mastercard announced on 9 September 2026. It covers two things. It is the umbrella for eight wallet products on Mastercard's page, at least three of which predate the announcement: MDES from 2014, Pay Local from November 2024 and Wallet Services from July 2026, whose consumer features Mastercard said may start appearing by the end of 2026. It is also the name of one product, account tokenization, which turns a wallet account into a Mastercard payment credential without issuing a physical card. The tap-to-pay experience it describes was already running: Kakao Pay users could pay at Mastercard merchants abroad through Alipay+ from September 2025. Mastercard does not say whether that is the same product. It has published no launch dates, pricing or market list, and says availability may vary by market, wallet provider and issuer participation.

On 9 September 2026 Mastercard announced Mastercard Wallet Pay, which its release describes as "a global portfolio of solutions designed to foster interoperability and innovation for digital wallets across contactless (NFC), QR codes and online digital payments". Twelve payment providers are named as using it, from Hong Kong to Mexico to Africa.

It is easy to read that as the launch of one new payment rail. It is better read as a new name. It covers eight Mastercard products for digital wallets, at least three of which predate the announcement. And the experience it promises — a wallet user tapping to pay at a Mastercard merchant, with no card — was already running through Alipay+ a year earlier.

The name also belongs to one product inside the portfolio, account tokenization, which turns a wallet's own account into a Mastercard payment credential. This article explains what was announced, what was already live, how that tokenization works on Mastercard's description, and what Mastercard has not said.

What Mastercard announced, and when

Mastercard's investor-relations site dates the release 9 September 2026; its newsroom dates it 10 September. It was datelined Singapore, twelve hours ahead of US Eastern time, and it is the same release in both places.

It describes Wallet Pay through five capability areas, in Mastercard's words: interoperability between wallets "across borders, platforms and payment types"; secure issuing, supporting providers "in launching their own credit, debit or prepaid card programs"; unified digital and e-commerce experiences; accelerated money movement "between cards, wallets or accounts"; and expanded access for underbanked and unbanked consumers.

Those are descriptions of capability, not product specifications. The release contains no launch date for any market, no pricing and no technical detail. For more, you have to go to Mastercard's product pages.

One name, two meanings

Mastercard's Wallet Pay page describes the offer as a "suite of solutions" aimed at what it calls staged and stored-value wallets, particularly in emerging markets. A stored-value wallet holds a balance the user has loaded, such as GCash or TrueMoney. In industry usage, a staged wallet pays the merchant from the wallet's own account and settles separately with whatever funding source the user linked.

The page then lists eight products:

Product on Mastercard's pageWhat Mastercard says it does
Mastercard Wallet Pay — account tokenizationTokenizes wallet accounts so they can pay by tap or online at Mastercard merchant locations
Mastercard Pay LocalLinks Mastercard cards to local digital wallets
Mastercard Wallet ExpressPass-through payment capability and tap-to-pay
Mastercard Digital Enablement Service (MDES)Replaces a card or account number with a token for each transaction or device
Mastercard Wallet ServicesLets wallets offer contactless and e-commerce payments without building infrastructure
Mastercard Move for WalletsTransfers between cards, wallets and accounts
Mastercard Acceptance for WalletsLets merchants accept contactless and online payments; links to Mastercard's Tap on Phone
Mastercard Issuing for WalletsLets wallets launch card programmes

The only product that carries the Wallet Pay name itself is account tokenization. Mastercard's FAQ says so directly, referring to "Mastercard Wallet Pay (our account tokenization solution)". Everything else on the list is sold under the Wallet Pay heading but keeps its own name.

What was already live before the name

Mastercard's page does not say which of the eight products are new. At least three of them predate it, and the capability at the centre of the announcement was already running.

MDES is Mastercard's card-number tokenization service, which replaces a card number with a unique token, "subject to issuer participation", in Mastercard's developer documentation — the scheme-issued network tokens that card-on-file merchants already use. Mastercard dates its introduction to 2014. Pay Local launched in November 2024. Wallet Services is the name of a product Mastercard introduced on 15 July 2026 — software development kits that let banks and others build contactless payments into their own apps on iOS and Android — less than two months before the Wallet Pay name; Mastercard said consumers may start seeing the new capabilities in select markets by the end of 2026.

Tap-to-pay from a wallet account was already live through Alipay+. On 23 September 2025, Alipay+ — Ant International's gateway for wallets — announced overseas NFC payments for Kakao Pay through its partnership with Mastercard. In that release, "Kakao Pay users can now make NFC payments at over 150 million Mastercard merchant locations worldwide", by tapping an Android phone on a contactless terminal that accepts Mastercard, with iPhone support planned. Mastercard's Executive Vice President for Core Payments, Asia Pacific, is quoted in it. Alipay+'s product page for the service says users can pay "wherever Mastercard is accepted", with "No additional need to issue a card".

Alipay+'s developer documentation describes how that works on its side. When a user activates the service, Ant's server requests a token for the user's ID from Mastercard, and "Mastercard generates the token and binds it to the UID". The user verifies their identity and can activate "without applying for a traditional bank card".

That is close to what Mastercard now describes as account tokenization: a wallet account, not a card, turned into a Mastercard credential. And in the 2026 release, AlipayHK describes its own tap-to-pay service as coming "Through the partnership between Mastercard Wallet Pay and Alipay+". But Mastercard does not say whether Alipay+'s NFC service is the product it now calls account tokenization. Treat the resemblance as PaymentBrief's reading, not as Mastercard's statement.

The practical point is the one that matters for the headlines. The announcement put a name on a portfolio. It did not mark the first day a wallet user could tap at a Mastercard terminal without a card.

How account tokenization works, on Mastercard's description

A network token replaces a real card number with a substitute credential that is only valid in a defined context. What Mastercard's tokenization page describes is the same idea applied to something that is not a card: a wallet account.

In Mastercard's words, account tokenization will "Convert wallet accounts into secure payment credentials without issuing physical cards". The page then describes three ways to pay:

  • Tap to pay. "Users open their wallet, select the account they want to use, and pay with a tap at participating merchants."
  • E-commerce. Users pay online with the credentials held in their wallet.
  • X-Pay Wallet Expansion. Mastercard says this will "Enable participating Pay by Account wallets to pay through X-Pays". The page does not define either term. "X-Pay" is commonly used for device wallets such as Apple Pay and Google Pay, but Mastercard does not say which it means.

The funding behind the payment does not have to be a stored balance. The page lists stored-value accounts, bank accounts, rewards balances, credit lines and digital assets, and says users get controls over payment channels and transaction limits. Mastercard frames the reach as wallet payments at "150M+ Mastercard acceptance locations".

Mastercard's page does not say when the account is tokenized — once, when the service is set up, or at each payment. Alipay+'s documentation for its own service describes the token being issued at activation, but that is Alipay+'s product, described by Alipay+.

What the page also does not describe is everything behind the tap: who authorises the payment, how funds settle between the wallet and the merchant's side, and what happens when a payment is disputed.

The direction matters: Pay Local runs the other way

It is easy to read "Mastercard plus wallets" as one idea. The products in this portfolio run in different directions, and the difference decides who benefits.

Pay Local, launched in 2024, brings a card into a wallet. Mastercard's launch release described it as a service "allowing consumers to make card-based payments using local digital wallets". A Mastercard cardholder links their card to a participating local wallet and pays the wallet's merchants — the tourist in Indonesia paying through DANA with a card from home.

Account tokenization takes a wallet out onto the card network. The wallet's own account becomes the Mastercard credential, and the user pays at merchants that accept Mastercard, including outside the wallet's home market.

A third direction appears only as a plan. TenPay Global, Tencent's cross-border payments arm, says it "will work with Mastercard to further connect international digital wallets with the Weixin Pay merchant network", so that visitors to the Chinese mainland can pay Weixin Pay merchants by QR code with their home wallet. That is a wallet paying at another wallet's merchants, and TenPay describes it in the future tense.

Who is using it, in their own words

Twelve providers are named. Six are named as partner wallets of Alipay+. The release's partner statements are one source of evidence; for two of the partners, separate launch announcements exist.

PartnerMarket, as stated in the releaseWhat the partner saysHow it reads
AlipayHKHong KongNFC payment through Wallet Pay and Alipay+ "complements QR code payments" and "expanded our reach to merchants beyond Hong Kong"In use
Clip (Mi Clip)MexicoLaunched its Mi Clip consumer wallet "Powered by Mastercard Wallet Pay and Alipay+"In use. Clip announced Mi Clip on 9 June 2026, naming Mastercard as a partner and overseas payments as a "next phase"
KakaoPaySouth KoreaThe Alipay+ and Mastercard solution "enables us to significantly enhance our global acceptance"Tap-to-pay abroad announced by Alipay+ in September 2025
TNG eWalletMalaysiaUsers can top up and pay abroad; visitors can pay during their stayPresent tense, no specifics
GCashPhilippines"we can extend secure global acceptance"Capability, no date
TrueMoneyThailandCan connect users "to Mastercard's global acceptance network"Capability, no date
MTN (MoMo)AfricaThe partnership "is connecting millions of MoMo users to the global economy"Present tense, unspecific
DaviPlataNot statedA digital debit card with 1.5 million active cards in 15 months, now linkable to Apple Pay and Google PayAn existing card programme
Mercado PagoLatin AmericaLinking Mastercard debit and credit cards to its digital accountAn existing card-linking feature
Axian (MVola, Mixx)AfricaWallet Pay "will help us take that ambition further"Future
TenPay GlobalChinese mainland, for visitorsWill connect international wallets to Weixin Pay merchantsFuture
CREDNot statedNamed in the release; no statement

Two things follow. First, in the release itself only AlipayHK and Clip describe a completed use of Wallet Pay by name; KakaoPay's tap-to-pay was announced separately a year earlier. Second, at least two partners describe things that sound like existing card programmes — a debit card, card linking — which fits Wallet Pay being a portfolio rather than one new rail. None of the statements says which of the eight products the partner uses.

What this means for merchants, wallets and PSPs

For merchants that already accept Mastercard, Mastercard has announced nothing that requires action. Its tokenization page describes payments "at participating merchants" without defining which merchants participate, and elsewhere frames the reach as Mastercard acceptance locations. Alipay+ describes its service the same way: a tap on a contactless terminal that accepts Mastercard. PaymentBrief's reading is that such a payment reaches the merchant as a Mastercard contactless or online transaction through an acquirer; Alipay+'s documentation for its own service routes payments through its acquiring partners. Mastercard does not describe merchant processing or pricing, so that is an inference, not a statement. The portfolio also lists a separate merchant product, Acceptance for Wallets, without saying how it relates to account tokenization. What may change in practice is who arrives: travellers paying with a home wallet rather than a card.

For wallet providers, the pitch is a way onto card acceptance "without the cost and complexity of building card issuance and processing infrastructure", in Mastercard's words. Read that alongside the tokenization page's own caveat: availability may vary by "market, wallet provider, issuer participation, regulatory requirements and technical implementation". Mastercard's "without issuing physical cards" is not the same as without an issuer — an issuing arrangement, and local regulatory permission, may still sit behind the credential. The page directs interested wallets to their Mastercard account representative.

For PSPs and acquirers, Mastercard has published no change to message formats, acceptance rules or fees. If tokenized wallet payments grow, the practical questions are about reporting: whether a transaction funded from a wallet balance is distinguishable from a card transaction in settlement files and dispute handling. Mastercard has not addressed that publicly.

What to treat with care

"Launch" means a portfolio launch. The release announces a name, a portfolio and partners. It does not announce a date on which a named product becomes available in a named market, and some of what it covers was running before it.

The scale figures are Mastercard's, and they differ between pages. The release says Wallet Pay enables "more than 3.7 billion Mastercard credentials to connect to digital wallets". The product page cites 3.5 billion payment credentials. Treat both as marketing scale, not as terms anyone can rely on.

Partner quotes are partner claims. They are published by Mastercard in a quote sheet and have not been independently verified.

What has not been announced

  • Launch dates by market, and a list of markets where account tokenization is available
  • Pricing, for wallets or for merchants
  • Which of the eight products each named partner uses
  • Whether Alipay+'s tap-to-pay service, live since 2025, is the product Mastercard now calls account tokenization
  • Who acts as the issuer behind a tokenized wallet account, and how liability and disputes work for those payments
  • How account tokenization relates to Mastercard Wallet Services, which is listed separately in the same portfolio
  • What "X-Pay Wallet Expansion" covers in practice

For how wallet balances are funded and reconciled on the operating side, see the stored-value wallet operations guide. For what accepting Mastercard through device wallets already involves, see the Apple Pay and Google Pay acceptance guide.

Sources & methodology (10)

Mastercard announced Mastercard Wallet Pay, described as a global portfolio of solutions designed to foster interoperability and innovation for digital wallets across contactless (NFC), QR codes and online digital payments; the release names Alipay+ partner wallets AlipayHK, Clip, GCash, KakaoPay, TNG eWallet and TrueMoney, together with Axian, CRED, DaviPlata, Mercado Pago, MTN and TenPay Global; it lists five capability areas and carries a partner quote sheet

Wallet Pay announcement, 9 September 2026

Mastercard's investor site also carries the release as a PDF dated 2026-09-09 with a Singapore dateline; its newsroom carries it dated 10 September 2026. Partner statements are the partners' own words.

Checked:

Mastercard's Wallet Pay page describes Wallet Pay as a suite of solutions designed to support staged and stored-value digital wallets, particularly in emerging markets, and lists eight products: Mastercard Wallet Pay (account tokenization), Pay Local, Wallet Express, Mastercard Digital Enablement Service (MDES), Wallet Services, Move for Wallets, Acceptance for Wallets and Issuing for Wallets; its FAQ refers to 'Mastercard Wallet Pay (our account tokenization solution)'

Wallet Pay portfolio contents

Checked:

Mastercard's tokenization page for Wallet Pay says account tokenization converts wallet accounts into secure payment credentials without issuing physical cards; supports tap to pay at participating merchants, e-commerce and 'X-Pay Wallet Expansion' for participating Pay by Account wallets; supports stored-value accounts, bank accounts, rewards balances, credit lines and digital assets as funding sources; and states that product features, functionality, benefits, availability and timing may vary by market, wallet provider, issuer participation, regulatory requirements and technical implementation

Account tokenization and availability caveat

Checked:

Mastercard introduced Mastercard Wallet Services on 15 July 2026 as a set of software tools and services, including a Secure Element applet and software development kits, for building contactless wallet capabilities on iOS and Android, saying consumers may start seeing the new capabilities roll out in select markets by the end of that year; the same story dates the introduction of MDES tokenization technology to 2014

Wallet Services introduced 15 July 2026; MDES introduced 2014

Checked:

Alipay+ announced that it supports Kakao Pay in launching NFC payment for overseas transactions through its partnership with Mastercard; Kakao Pay users can now make NFC payments at over 150 million Mastercard merchant locations worldwide by tapping an NFC-enabled Android phone on a contactless terminal that accepts Mastercard, with KakaoTalk for Android to follow later in September and iOS planned; the release quotes Mastercard's Executive Vice President, Core Payments, Asia Pacific

Kakao Pay tap-to-pay at Mastercard merchants, 23 September 2025

Checked:

Alipay+'s product documentation for Alipay+ NFC describes activation in which the Ant server requests a token with the user's ID from Mastercard, and Mastercard generates the token, binds it to the user ID and returns it to the SDK in the wallet app; consumers complete identity verification and can activate the service without applying for a traditional bank card; payment is by tapping a Mastercard POS device

Alipay+ NFC activation flow

Alipay+'s description of its own product. Mastercard does not say whether Alipay+ NFC is the product it calls account tokenization.

Checked:

Alipay+'s NFC product page says Alipay+ NFC lets wallets offer tap-to-pay across Mastercard's contactless network, that users can pay wherever Mastercard is accepted, and that there is no additional need to issue a card

Alipay+ NFC product description

Alipay+'s current description of its own product; the page is undated.

Checked:

Source types explained in our Methodology.

Shaun Toh By Shaun Toh · Director, Digital Payments · Razer

More Global Payments briefings