Skip to content
Global Payments 13 min read

France–Senegal Remittance: The Peg Does Not Remove Your FX Risk

A fixed euro peg, a mobile-money payout that cannot receive foreign funds directly, and an instant rail that stops at the union border.

PB
By Shaun Toh
TL;DR

Senegal's currency is pegged to the euro, so there is no rate to hedge. The risk moves instead into settlement mechanics: e-money issuers cannot receive foreign funds directly, and must route through an approved intermediary bank.

Operator Summary

The XOF is pegged to the euro at 655.957, fixed since 1994, so a France-Senegal operator has no exchange-rate volatility to hedge on the EUR-XOF leg. That does not make the corridor risk-free — it relocates the risk into settlement and licensing mechanics. On the sending side, the ACPR requires full payment-institution authorisation for money remittance; its simplified status explicitly excludes transmission de fonds and carries no EU passport. On the receiving side, BCEAO Instruction 001-01-2024 governs payment services across the union, and e-money issuers such as Wave and Orange Money cannot receive funds from outside UMOA directly — they route through an approved intermediary bank. PI-SPI, the union's instant rail launched in September 2025, is scoped to the eight UEMOA countries and is not a channel a French sender uses.

Most remittance corridors start with an exchange-rate problem. This one does not, and that turns out to be the least interesting thing about it.

The West African CFA franc is pegged to the euro at 655.957, fixed since 1994. A France–Senegal operator has no EUR/XOF volatility to hedge. What it does have is a set of licensing and settlement constraints that decide whether a payout can happen at all — and those are where the corridor's real operational content sits.

For the United States equivalents, see the US–Mexico and US–India references. This is the euro-side version, and the mechanics differ more than you might expect.

The peg relocates risk; it does not remove it

The 2019 reform of the CFA arrangement is widely reported and usually reported by half. The BCEAO's own communiqué sets out what changed and what did not, in one place:

L'arrêt de la centralisation des réserves de change au Trésor Français, la fermeture du compte d'opérations et le transfert à la BCEAO des ressources disponibles dans le compte

Reserve centralisation at the French Treasury ended, and the operations account closed. But the same document confirms the retention of a taux de change fixe against the euro and a garantie de convertibilité illimitée provided by France.

So: the institutional plumbing changed, the rate did not.

For an operator that means the EUR→XOF leg carries no rate risk. Two other risks replace it.

Peg durability is a political question, not a market one. Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger announced in 2024 an intention to leave the monetary union. That does not change the rate today, but a peg maintained by an institutional arrangement is exposed to that arrangement, and the exposure is not something an FX desk can hedge.

Settlement mechanics are the constraint that actually bites, and they are the subject of the next two sections.

Sending side: the simplified route is closed to you

France's competent authority is the ACPR, and the first decision is which authorisation to seek.

The ACPR is explicit that the lighter route is unavailable to remitters:

S'il est prévu que le volume de paiement de votre établissement de paiement ne dépasse pas une moyenne mensuelle de 3 millions d'euros et si vous ne prévoyez pas de fournir le service de transmission de fonds, il est possible de demander à l'ACPR un agrément d'établissement de paiement simplifié […] Le bénéfice du passeport européen n'est pas ouvert à cette catégorie d'établissements.

Note the conjunction: the simplified route requires both a payment volume under EUR 3 million a month and not providing funds transmission. A remittance operator fails the second condition at any volume, so the first never becomes relevant — but the two are AND-ed in the source and quoting only the second would misdescribe the rule. And that category gets no European passport regardless.

So a France-based remitter needs full payment institution authorisation, and needs it both to remit at all and to passport into other member states. Central administration must sit in France alongside the registered office. This is decided before anything else and is expensive to get wrong.

On the EU travel rule, one deliberate limitation. Transfers from the EU are subject to Regulation (EU) 2023/1113, and the European Banking Authority's own Travel Rule Guidelines confirm the structure — payer and payee account-number requirements under Article 4, and a EUR 1,000 threshold governing linked transfers and the reduced data set. What this article does not do is quote the regulation's scope-trigger wording, because EUR-Lex could not be retrieved: every path returns HTTP 202 with zero bytes behind an AWS WAF challenge that no user-agent defeats. The threshold and the Article 4 structure are cited to the EBA, which resolves. The precise scope language is left for someone who can open the regulation itself.

Receiving side: BCEAO, and a licence that does not include the border

Senegal's payments regulation is regional. BCEAO Instruction n°001-01-2024 of 23 January 2024 governs payment services across the union, and its Article 2 sets the perimeter:

La présente Instruction s'applique aux entités suivantes : 1. les banques ; 2. les établissements financiers de crédit ; 3. les établissements de paiement ; 4. les institutions de microfinance ; 5. les établissements de monnaie électronique.

Article 9 requires prior authorisation and listing before providing the covered services.

Note the fifth category: établissements de monnaie électronique — e-money establishments. Wave and Orange Money sit there. Wave states it became an authorised e-money issuer in Senegal on 14 April 2022; Orange was reported in March 2016 to have obtained authorisation in Senegal and three other markets.

Being a licensed e-money issuer is not the same as being able to receive money from abroad.

The mechanic most integration plans get wrong

A Senegalese e-money issuer cannot take your funds directly. Cross-border receipts route through a credit institution holding approved-intermediary status — the BCEAO's 2017 enforcement position was that operations of this kind fall exclusively within the competence of credit institutions holding that status.

The practical shape for an operator:

LayerWho
Customer experienceWave or Orange Money wallet
Settlement pathA partnered bank with approved-intermediary status
Your counterpartyThe bank, or an aggregator sitting in front of it

You are not settling with the wallet. You are settling with a bank that credits the wallet.

A sourcing limitation worth stating plainly, because it affects how firmly to hold this. The provision is understood to be codified in Règlement n°06/2024/CM/UEMOA, and that instrument was retrieved — a genuine 3.9MB PDF, adopted at Bamako on 20 December 2024, repealing the 2010 external-financial-relations regulation and entering into force on signature. But it is image-scanned with no usable text layer: only the signature page, the repeal article and the entry-into-force article could be extracted. The specific article governing e-money issuers and approved intermediaries could not be read, so it is not quoted here. The 2017 enforcement position is the anchor, and anyone relying on this commercially should get the current article text properly.

PI-SPI stops at the union border

In September 2025 the BCEAO launched PI-SPI, an interoperable instant payment platform. It is easy to read that as a cross-border opportunity. It is not one.

The BCEAO's own launch material:

PI-SPI est un système de paiement instantané et interopérable, accessible en continu dans les huit pays de l'UEMOA.

Eight countries. Inside the union.

This absence was checked rather than assumed. The announcement was stripped to text and searched for transfrontalier, hors UEMOA and international. The single hit describes the BCEAO itself as un établissement public international — an institutional description, unrelated to what PI-SPI carries.

PI-SPI is a domestic and regional last-mile layer connecting banks, e-money issuers, microfinance institutions and mobile money operators within UEMOA. It improves what happens to money once it is inside Senegal. It is not an inbound channel from France, and a roadmap that treats it as one has misread the launch.

What the corridor costs

The World Bank's Remittance Prices Worldwide survey puts France→Senegal at 2.41% total average cost on a EUR 140 (USD 200) send, with data collected 24 July to 3 September 2025 and reported as Third Quarter 2025.

That is cheap. For comparison against another corridor on this site, the US→India corridor sat at 3.68% on a USD 200 send in a similar window.

One methodological note, learned the hard way. The corridor page carries no global or regional average — it was searched for "global average", "world average", "regional average" and "Sub-Saharan", with zero hits on all four. Any article pairing a corridor figure with a regional average is taking the second number from somewhere else. This one does not.

The two ecos, which are not one thing

This is the corridor's most reliable source of confusion, and getting it right is straightforward once the two tracks are separated.

UEMOA's 2019 rename is conditional, not scheduled. The BCEAO's communiqué frames it as the change of the currency's name to the eco when UEMOA countries join the wider ECOWAS eco zone. It is contingent on the other project, and the peg and convertibility guarantee were explicitly retained.

The ECOWAS-wide project is the other track, and its status is less settled than the headline date suggests. In July 2026 ECOWAS reaffirmed a 2027 target — but without specifying which countries would form the first monetary union.

A six-country first phase — Liberia, Nigeria, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Guinea and the Gambia — had been envisaged earlier, at Monrovia, and explicitly subject to macroeconomic criteria being met and institutions being established. The July 2026 final communiqué does not repeat that list, and does not say whether UEMOA countries could join a first wave. ECOWAS itself acknowledges outstanding questions.

So the honest position is not that Senegal is excluded from wave one. It is that the first participants are not known, and no CFA-zone timetable follows from the 2027 date. Treat the peg as stable for planning and the reform as a risk to monitor — not a date to build a migration against.

What could not be established

Stated rather than glossed:

  • Failed-payout and return-of-funds handling. No BCEAO instrument, operator page or press source surfaced rules or service levels for this corridor. If it matters to your design, get it contractually from your intermediary bank — do not assume a regional standard exists.
  • The payout-channel volume split between wallet, cash and bank account. Not found.
  • The current article text of Règlement 06/2024 on e-money and approved intermediaries, for the reason above.

What to take from this

  • No rate risk on the EUR leg, and that is genuinely unusual — but it relocates risk into peg politics and settlement licensing rather than removing it.
  • The ACPR's simplified authorisation is closed to remitters and carries no passport. Full authorisation or nothing.
  • You do not settle with the wallet. An approved-intermediary bank sits between you and Wave or Orange Money, and your commercial relationship is with it.
  • PI-SPI is not your channel. It is a union-internal rail.
  • 2.41% is a real corridor figure on a stated amount and survey window — and the page it comes from carries no regional average to pair it with.
  • The peg is not on a near-term replacement schedule. The first eco wave contains no CFA country.
Sources & methodology (10)

BCEAO Instruction n°001-01-2024 of 23 January 2024 applies to banks, credit-finance establishments, payment institutions, microfinance institutions and electronic money establishments (Article 2), and requires prior authorisation and listing before providing the payment services it covers (Article 9).

Instruction n°001-01-2024, 23 January 2024

Verified: HTTP 200, application/pdf, 748,534 bytes, parsed with pdftotext. Articles 2 and 9 quoted from the instrument's own French text. Note that bceao.int returns 403 to a default curl user-agent but 200 to a browser user-agent.

Checked:

The 2019 CFA reform ended centralisation of foreign exchange reserves at the French Treasury and closed the operations account, while retaining the fixed exchange rate against the euro and France's unlimited convertibility guarantee. The rename to eco is framed as occurring when UEMOA countries join the wider ECOWAS eco zone.

Verified: HTTP 200, 119,814 bytes. Both halves of the claim — what ended and what was retained — appear on the same page, which matters because most coverage carries only one of them.

Checked:

PI-SPI is described by the BCEAO as an instant and interoperable payment system accessible continuously across the eight UEMOA countries.

Launched September 2025; UEMOA scope

Verified: HTTP 200, 125,310 bytes, and the French sentence read directly. The absence of cross-border scope was checked rather than assumed: the page was stripped to text and searched for transfrontalier, hors UEMOA and international. The only hit describes the BCEAO itself as an international public institution.

Checked:

The ACPR states that simplified payment institution authorisation is available only where the applicant does not intend to provide the funds transmission service, and that the European passport is not open to that category of institution.

Verified: HTTP 200, 211,690 bytes. Both halves of the claim appear adjacent on the same page. The host 403s intermittently depending on request shape.

Checked:

The France to Senegal corridor averaged 2.41% total cost for a EUR 140 (USD 200) send, with data collected 24 July to 3 September 2025, reported as Third Quarter 2025.

2.41% on EUR 140, Q3 2025

Verified: HTTP 200, 786,634 bytes with curl and a browser user-agent; a default user-agent returns 403, and node fetch returns 403 even with a browser UA, so automated link checks report a false failure here. The figure, the send amount and the survey window were read from the live page. The page carries NO global or regional average — searched for global average, world average, regional average and Sub-Saharan, all zero hits — so no such comparison is drawn here.

Checked:

Règlement n°06/2024/CM/UEMOA on external financial relations was adopted at Bamako on 20 December 2024, repeals and replaces Règlement n°09/2010/CM/UEMOA of 1 October 2010, and enters into force on the date of its signature.

Adopted 20 December 2024

Verified: HTTP 200, application/pdf, 3,914,006 bytes — a genuine PDF. IMPORTANT LIMITATION: the document is image-scanned with no usable text layer for the body articles. Only the signature page, the repeal article and the entry-into-force article extracted. The specific article text governing e-money issuers and approved intermediaries could NOT be extracted, so this article does not quote it and relies on the 2017 enforcement position instead.

Checked:

The EBA Travel Rule Guidelines discuss Regulation (EU) 2023/1113, referencing the payer and payee payment-account-number requirements under Article 4 and the EUR 1,000 threshold governing linked transfers and the reduced data set.

Article 4 structure; EUR 1,000 threshold

Cited to the EBA rather than to the regulation because EUR-Lex could not be retrieved at all - every path returns HTTP 202 with zero bytes behind an AWS WAF challenge. This is an EU regulator discussing the regulation, not the regulation's own text, and the article says so. An earlier draft named the EBA in prose with NO sources entry at all, which is the named-source-without-a-URL defect this project has now hit three times.

Checked:

Wave Digital Finance states it became an authorised electronic money issuer in Senegal on 14 April 2022.

Operator's own statement, not a BCEAO register entry. No BCEAO register page confirming it was found, so it is attributed to Wave rather than to the regulator.

Checked:

Orange was reported in March 2016 to have obtained electronic money issuer authorisation in Senegal, Mali, Côte d'Ivoire and Guinea.

Press, not a BCEAO register entry. Attributed accordingly.

Checked:

ECOWAS reaffirmed a 2027 target for the eco in July 2026 without specifying which countries would form the first monetary union. A six-country first phase (Liberia, Nigeria, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Guinea, the Gambia) had been envisaged earlier at Monrovia, subject to macroeconomic criteria and institutional readiness, but the July 2026 final communique does not repeat that list and does not state whether UEMOA countries could join a first wave. The source's own subheading is that the first participants remain unknown.

2027 target reaffirmed; first participants not specified

Press. Resolves to 154,058 bytes with curl and a browser user-agent; bot-gated against automated checkers, so a link check may report a false failure. CONTEXT WARNING: an earlier draft of this article read the six-country list as the confirmed July 2026 outcome. It is not. The same source states the list was envisaged earlier at Monrovia subject to unmet criteria, that the July 2026 communique does not repeat it, and under its own subheading that the first participants remain unknown. The article now says the participants are unknown rather than that Senegal is excluded. Guinea in that earlier list is Guinea-Conakry, not Guinea-Bissau.

Checked:

Source types explained in our Methodology.

Shaun Toh By Shaun Toh · Director, Digital Payments · Razer

More Global Payments briefings