Skip to content

Authorization, Capture, and Settlement: Payment Lifecycle for Operators

An approved authorization is a hold, not settled money. The operator guide to the card lifecycle: authorization, capture, clearing, settlement — and the gaps.

PB
By Shaun Toh
Last updated: August 31, 2026
TL;DR

"Approved" is a promise, not a payment. This is the operator guide to what happens after a card payment: authorization holds, capture windows, full vs partial capture, incremental auth, reversals vs refunds, and why settlement does not equal capture.

Operator Summary

An approved authorization is not settled money — it is a hold. The card lifecycle runs authentication (optional, e.g. 3DS, before auth) → authorization (the issuer earmarks funds and approves or declines) → capture (you claim some or all of the approved amount) → clearing and settlement (funds actually move and land in your account, often days later). Holds expire if you do not capture within a window that varies by scheme, card type, acquirer, region, and merchant category. You can capture fully or partially, raise a hold with incremental authorization where supported, reverse or void an uncaptured auth to release the hold, and refund only after capture. Most operator pain lives in the gaps: auth approved but capture failed, holds expiring before fulfillment, duplicate captures, and settlement not matching what you captured.

The checkout screen says "approved," and the operator assumes the money is theirs. It isn't. An approval is the issuer confirming the funds exist and earmarking them — a promise to pay, not a payment. Nothing has settled. The cardholder's available balance dropped, but your bank account has not moved, and depending on what you do next, it may never move at all.

That gap — between the green "approved" and money actually in your account — is where a surprising amount of operational pain lives. Holds expire before you ship. Captures fail silently after an approval. The same order gets captured twice. The amount that settles doesn't match what you captured. None of these are exotic edge cases; they are the routine failure modes of running card payments, and every one of them lives in the steps that happen after the customer sees "approved."

This guide is the mechanics of those steps. It is a companion to the payment-stack actors guide, which maps who does what — issuer, acquirer, gateway, PSP, and who holds your money. That guide owns the actor map and the custody question; this one owns the lifecycle: what happens, in what order, from authentication through settlement, and why "approved" does not mean "paid."

The lifecycle: authentication → authorization → capture → clearing → settlement

A card payment is not one event. It is a sequence, and the steps are genuinely different operations with different effects on money. Conflating them — especially treating authorization as settlement — is the root of most of the confusion.

  • Authentication (optional): proving the cardholder is who they say they are, typically via 3DS2. It runs before authorization and is distinct from it — authentication verifies identity; authorization checks funds. It can carry a fraud-liability effect, but that is scheme- and contract-defined; this guide only draws the line and defers the depth to the authentication tax.
  • Authorization: the issuer earmarks funds and returns an approve or decline. This is the authorization — a hold, not a transfer.
  • Capture: you claim some or all of the approved amount. This is the instruction that money should actually move. Without a capture, an approval eventually expires and nothing is ever charged.
  • Clearing: the captured transactions are exchanged and reconciled between acquirer and issuer through the network.
  • Settlement: funds actually move and land in your account. This is settlement — usually batched, and usually a day or several days after capture.

The single distinction to hold: authentication ≠ authorization ≠ capture ≠ settlement. Each is a separate step, and money is only earmarked at authorization, instructed to move at capture, and actually moved at clearing and settlement.

StepWhat happensDoes money move?Notes
AuthenticationCardholder identity is verified (e.g. 3DS2), before authorizationNoOptional; distinct from authorization; can carry a scheme- and contract-defined liability effect
AuthorizationIssuer checks funds/account status and approves or declines, earmarking the amountNo — funds are held, not transferred"Approved" is a promise to pay; the hold reduces available credit
CaptureMerchant claims some or all of the approved amountInitiates the movementNo capture, no charge; an uncaptured auth expires
ClearingCaptured transactions exchanged and reconciled between acquirer and issuer via the networkIn transitUsually batched; the bridge between capture and settlement
SettlementFunds land in your account, net of fees and adjustmentsYes — this is "paid"Timing varies; the settled amount may not equal the captured amount

Why "approved" does not mean money has moved

The core teaching of this guide fits in one sentence: an authorization is a hold on the issuer's side, not a transfer to you. When the issuer approves, it confirms the funds are there and reduces the cardholder's available balance by the authorized amount. That is all. No money has left the cardholder's account, and certainly none has reached yours.

Money begins moving only when you capture, which feeds the transaction into clearing, and it actually arrives at settlement — typically days later. Until then, "approved" is an IOU from the issuer that you have a few days to act on. If you never capture, the hold simply lapses and the IOU evaporates; the customer was never charged.

This is also why the custody question matters, and why it lives in the companion guide. In the gap between capture and settlement, your money is sitting in someone else's account — the acquirer's or the PSP's — and they control when it reaches you. The payment-stack actors guide owns that custody point in full; here it is enough to know that "approved" and "settled" are separated by both time and a custodian who is not you.

Authorization holds, capture windows, and expiry

An authorization hold is not permanent. It reduces the cardholder's available credit or balance for the authorized amount, and it survives only for a limited window. If you do not capture within that window, the authorization expires: the hold is released back to the cardholder, and a late capture attempt may fail outright, or succeed only as a weaker, more expensive transaction (a downgrade that can cost interchange and, where applicable, lose a guarantee or liability protection tied to the original authorization).

The hard caveat lives here, and it is non-negotiable: capture windows vary by scheme, card type, acquirer, PSP, region, and merchant category — there is no universal number, so never hardcode one. When a provider documents a default, treat it as that provider's example, not a rule. Stripe, for instance, documents card-not-present holds of seven days for Mastercard, American Express, and Discover and five to seven days for Visa, with different windows for card-present transactions and other payment methods — but those are Stripe's documented defaults, cited here as a provider example and explicitly not a scheme-wide guarantee. Your own window depends on your scheme mix, card types, acquirer, region, and MCC, and it is a number you confirm with your provider, not one you read off an article.

The operational takeaway: track the capture window that actually applies to your transactions, per scheme and per provider, and capture (or re-authorize) before it lapses.

Full vs partial capture

You do not have to capture the full authorized amount. You can capture less — a partial capture — which is the right move when you ship part of an order, fulfill part of a basket, or find an item is out of stock after authorizing the full cart. With many providers, a single partial capture automatically releases the unclaimed remainder of the hold.

Mind the distinction with partial authorization, which is a different thing entirely. Partial authorization is the issuer approving less than you requested — typically because the card has insufficient funds to cover the full amount. Partial capture is you claiming less than the issuer authorized. One is an issuer decision on the way in; the other is a merchant decision on the way out. They are easy to conflate and operationally unrelated.

A related but separate question is whether you can submit more than one capture against a single authorization — repeated claims against the same hold, as when a multi-item order ships in stages. That is not partial capture and not incremental authorization (covered above); it is a question about clearing. Each capture generates its own clearing record, so can I capture twice is really can I submit multiple clearing records against one authorization — and for Visa, that is not left to provider discretion. It is written into the rulebook, narrowly, with real conditions attached.

Visa's rulebook covers this in two adjacent sections that govern different constructs. Section 5.7.3.1, Prohibition against Split Transaction, governs how many Transaction Receipts a single transaction may be split across. It states: "A Merchant must not split a Transaction by using 2 or more Transaction Receipts, except for the following:" — followed by a named exception list (advance payments, individual airline and cruise-line tickets, installment transactions, original credit transactions, a split between a Visa card and another form of payment, and region-specific carve-outs for service fees and US railway tickets). Split shipment is not on that list — this section is not what makes split shipment permitted.

Section 5.7.3.2, Single Authorization Request for Multiple Clearing Transactions, governs a different construct: not how many receipts one transaction is split across, but how many Clearing Records may follow a single Authorization. It opens: "A Merchant may obtain a single Authorization and submit multiple Clearing Records only if one of the following:" — and names three routes. The first is a merchant-category gate: airlines, cruise lines, and US railway merchants. The second is the one that matters for a typical e-commerce split shipment — a card-absent merchant that ships goods, and only if every one of several conditions holds: the purpose is to support a split shipment of goods, and each shipment's transaction receipt carries the same payment credential and expiration date and the same merchant outlet name. Two further, customer-facing conditions sit alongside those. Visa's rule states: "The Merchant discloses to the Cardholder the possibility of multiple shipments on its website and/or application or in writing." And separately: "With each shipment, the Merchant notifies the Cardholder of the Transaction amount of the shipment." A card-absent merchant that does not ship physical goods — most subscription and services businesses — is not covered by this branch at all. The third route is regional and narrower still: in the LAC region, a domestic installment transaction in Brazil. Where a merchant qualifies under any of the three, the rulebook then requires the mechanism: "The Acquirer must use a Multiple Clearing Sequence Number." That field's format is not documented in this rulebook — it sits in VisaNet's technical specifications — and the rulebook sets no cap on how many clearing records may follow one authorization: it sets conditions, not a count.

The two sections sit next to each other in the rulebook and address related conduct — one is about splitting a transaction's receipts, the other about splitting one authorization's clearing — but the rulebook does not state that 5.7.3.2 is an exception carved out of 5.7.3.1's prohibition; they are separate provisions governing separate constructs. Reading them as a general default followed by a related permission, as the framing above does, is this article's own way of relating the two sections, not something the rulebook itself states.

There's a dispute knock-on worth knowing here. Visa's dispute rules treat every clearing record sharing one Multiple Clearing Sequence Number as a single transaction for two specific counting thresholds. Under Dispute Condition 10.4 (Other Fraud – Card-Absent Environment), a dispute is invalid on an account number where the issuer has already raised more than 35 disputes in the previous 120 days, and a footnote to that rule states: "Individual Transactions that contain a Multiple Clearing Sequence Number that result from the same Authorization are treated as one Transaction toward the 35 Transaction limit." Under Dispute Condition 13.1 (Merchandise/Services Not Received), an issuer must supply a cardholder letter once the cardholder has disputed three or more non-receipt transactions at the same merchant on the same card within a 30-calendar-day window, and the identical footnote wording applies there too, substituting a 3 Transaction limit for the 35 Transaction limit. Five split shipments from one order count as one transaction against both thresholds, not five.

All of this is Visa's rule, from Visa's own current public rulebook — not "the card networks," and not a scheme-wide constant. PaymentBrief could not check this against Mastercard's own rulebook, as with the capture tolerances below, so no Mastercard equivalent is confirmed, and none should be assumed. Whether your acquirer or PSP actually exposes multiple captures under one authorization, and enforces these conditions for you or leaves the burden on you, is a separate, provider-specific question worth confirming directly. For Visa specifically, whether the network allows this has a documented answer, turning on merchant category and, for split shipment, on disclosing the possibility upfront and notifying the customer of each shipment's amount.

Incremental authorization

The opposite case — the final amount grows after the initial auth — is handled by incremental authorization. Instead of running a second, disconnected authorization (which can leave two holds on the card and complicate the eventual capture), incremental authorization raises the existing hold so the final capture stays within an authorized amount.

This is the pattern for open-ended charges: hotel stays where the guest adds nights or room service, car rentals with fuel and mileage, rideshare fares, bar tabs, and fuel pumps that authorize an estimate before the pump total is known. The caveat is the same shape as everywhere else: support varies by scheme, card type, merchant category, and acquirer or PSP, and incremental authorization is not universally available. Some networks restrict it to specific merchant categories. Confirm support with your provider before building a flow that depends on it.

Over-capture and capture tolerance

Not every final amount is known at the moment you authorize, and networks account for that with a mechanic distinct from incremental authorization: a capture tolerance — sometimes called an authorization-to-clearing tolerance — that lets you settle for slightly more than you authorized, with no new authorization message at all, for certain merchant categories where a small overrun at the end is routine: a bigger tip than estimated, a top-up at the pump, an extra day's mileage.

Visa's own rules put numbers on this, and Visa's current public rulebook confirms them directly. The Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules (18 April 2026 edition) sets out a table of permitted variations between the authorized amount and the clearing amount, by merchant category. Visa's 2019 guidance on estimated and incremental authorizations for card-absent grocery merchants describes this as "the existing 15% authorization-to-clearing tolerance" that merchants can rely on to true up a shortfall — a tip added after authorization, for instance — without sending another authorization, and the current rulebook confirms 15% for that category (listed there as "other cardholder-initiated transactions in the card-absent environment"). The same 15% figure, scoped to travel categories, appears in Visa's 2016 best-practices guide for U.S. lodging, car rental, and cruise line merchants, and it is still current: an incremental authorization is only required once the final purchase amount exceeds the sum of authorized amounts by more than 15% for lodging and cruise lines, or by more than 15% or USD 75 — whichever is greater — for car rental. Below that line, the merchant can settle as-is.

Restaurants are the category to watch, because the number has recently moved. A 2006 Visa merchant guide described restaurant authorizations as "automatically valid for the transaction amount plus 20 percent," and that 20% figure held worldwide until 20 February 2026. Effective 21 February 2026, Visa's current rulebook splits it by region: U.S. restaurants, fast food, and caterers (MCCs 5811, 5812, and 5814) now get up to 30%, while the same categories outside the U.S. (Asia Pacific, Canada, CEMEA, Europe, and Latin America and the Caribbean) stay at 20%. Taxicabs, drinking places, and beauty/barber/spa merchants remain at 20% worldwide, unchanged. If you operate U.S. restaurant or foodservice acceptance, the tolerance to build against today is 30%, not the older 20% figure still circulating in older merchant guides and secondary write-ups.

The shape across current sources: U.S. restaurants get roughly three-tenths over; non-U.S. restaurants, taxicabs, and a handful of other card-present categories get roughly a fifth over; lodging, cruise, and car rental get roughly a seventh over, with a dollar floor for car rental. These are Visa's own published, currently-effective figures — not universal card-scheme constants, and not Mastercard's. Confirm the figure against your acquirer's current Visa Core Rules extract before building anything against it; scheme rules are revised, as the February 2026 restaurant change itself shows.

What could not be verified for Mastercard. PaymentBrief could not confirm Mastercard's own tolerance percentages from Mastercard's primary rulebook, its Transaction Processing Rules. Point-of-sale vendor support documentation (Toast) states that Mastercard reinstated a 20% tip tolerance for card-not-present restaurant transactions in 2017 — structurally the same shape as Visa's non-U.S. restaurant allowance, though not necessarily the same percentage as Visa's current U.S. figure — but that is a third party's restatement, not Mastercard's own rule text, and it is not safe to assume Mastercard's lodging or car-rental tolerance mirrors Visa's 15%/USD 75 figures. Treat Visa's numbers in this section as Visa's numbers only.

Why the mechanism exists: hotel stays, car rentals, restaurant tabs, and fuel fills share the property that the final bill genuinely isn't known when the card is first authorized. Re-running a full authorization for every few dollars of drift would be operationally wasteful and risks a decline on an otherwise-good card. The tolerance is a narrow buffer that avoids that round trip for small amounts.

What happens when you exceed it is the operational bite: once the final capture sits outside the tolerance band, the authorization no longer covers the capture. Visa's own estimated-and-incremental guidance ties this directly to dispute exposure — it flags Dispute Condition 11.3, No Authorization/Late Presentment, as the liability merchants face when estimated and incremental authorizations aren't coded or sequenced correctly. The mechanism is the same for a plain over-tolerance capture: the amount above what was authorized (tolerance included) was never actually authorized, so it is chargeback-exposed on that basis alone, independent of any dispute about the goods or service delivered.

Tolerance and incremental authorization are not alternatives you pick between once — they run sequentially, and they don't fully compose. Tolerance is for the last small drift at the very end. Incremental authorization is for the larger or earlier-known growth — an extended stay, an added rental day, items added mid-order. Visa's grocery guidance is explicit that once a merchant has used an incremental authorization anywhere in a transaction, "the ability to use the 15% tolerance is no longer applicable" for the rest of that transaction; from that point, any further gap needs another incremental authorization or a fresh one, not a lean on tolerance.

Vertical playbooks: lodging, car rental, fuel, and delivery

The sections above name hotel, car rental, fuel, and delivery only as one-line examples of where incremental authorization and capture tolerance apply. Here is how each actually runs — and, the detail that gets lost, which layer of the stack owns the behavior. The eligibility and thresholds below are Visa's own published network rules; whether your PSP actually exposes an incremental-authorization API, or auto-reverses an early return, is a separate, PSP-specific decision layered on top.

Lodging. At check-in, the pre-authorization estimate is what the merchant genuinely expects the guest to spend for the stay, plus applicable taxes — Visa's rule is explicit that this must be a real estimate, not a padded arbitrary number, and must exclude speculative charges like a damage buffer. As charges accrue during the stay, the merchant raises the hold with incremental authorizations rather than running disconnected new authorizations. At check-out, the final capture is measured against the running total of all linked estimated-plus-incremental authorizations: inside 15% over, it settles as-is; beyond that, it needs another incremental authorization first. If the final charge comes in under the authorized total — an early departure, or lower spend than estimated — Visa's rule requires the merchant to reverse the unused difference within 24 hours of check-out. A genuine no-show charge is a distinct billing event from a stay charge; billing both a no-show and a completed stay for the same dates on the same reservation is named in Visa's own compliance-violation list, precisely because it double-charges one booking.

Car rental. The initial-hold basis mirrors lodging in structure but with more moving parts: the cost of the intended rental period, plus taxes and an estimated mileage charge — again explicitly excluding a damage or insurance-deductible buffer at authorization time. Fuel, extra mileage, and any damage assessed at return are what typically push the final amount past the original hold. The same greater-of-15%-or-USD-75 test governs whether an incremental authorization is required before settling, and the same 24-hour reversal obligation applies if the car comes back early or under the estimated total. The gap between return and final charge is exactly that processing window: the renter drives off, but fuel-level and mileage reconciliation and any damage inspection can take hours, and Visa's rule expects the resulting incremental authorization or reversal to follow promptly rather than linger.

Fuel. Automated Fuel Dispensers (AFDs) are the outlier in this playbook: Visa's current guidance keeps them on a different authorization framework entirely, not incremental or estimated authorizations. An AFD sends a capped "initial authorization" for a fixed ceiling before the pump total is known, the transaction simply stops if the pump hits that ceiling, and — unlike a hotel or rental — there is no incremental top-up; a wrong estimate means a new transaction, not a raised hold. Visa has also been narrowing who may use this pattern: effective April 2025, only AFDs retain it, while several unattended categories that used to share it — laundries, quick copy, car washes, video rental, vending — are being migrated onto estimated-and-incremental authorizations instead. Status-check and completion messaging matter here precisely because of the capped-ceiling design: get it wrong and either a phantom hold sits at the ceiling amount against the cardholder's available balance, or the pump transaction never reconciles to its authorization — the same misuse-of-authorization and unmatched-clearing exposure this guide's fee discussion covers generically, arriving here through a fuel-specific mechanism.

Delivery and grocery. This is the newest entrant to Visa's eligible-category list, not a longstanding one: card-absent grocery and supermarket transactions only became eligible for estimated-and-incremental authorization treatment in October 2019, alongside parking and EV charging. That timing explains why a delivery or grocery order's final capture routinely differs from the order total: weight-priced items and substitutions are resolved at pack time, after the initial authorization was taken against the cart estimate. Visa's guidance for this category has one point that does not generalize from the restaurant case: the estimated authorization must not include a speculative tip amount, and if the picked or substituted order runs a little over, the merchant can lean on the same tolerance described above rather than sending a new message — but only once. If an incremental authorization has already been used anywhere in that order's lifecycle, the tolerance is off the table for the rest of it.

Layer ownership, restated. Every specific figure and eligibility category above — the tolerance percentages, the USD 75 car-rental floor, October 2019 for grocery, April 2025 for the AFD narrowing — is a network rule, Visa's, not a PSP default and not an issuer courtesy. What an issuer does with a hold that oversits — release it early, or run it to expiry — is issuer behavior, separate from these figures. What a given PSP exposes to you as an API is a PSP-feature-layer decision on top of the network rule: Stripe's Terminal incremental-authorizations feature and Adyen's capture endpoints, both already cited earlier in this guide, are two PSP-specific implementations of the same underlying network mechanics, not evidence that every PSP offers the same call shape. And how promptly your own team sends the reversal, reads the pump-completion message, or reconciles a mileage adjustment is merchant practice — the layer where most of the failure modes in this guide's table already live.

Reversals, voids, and refunds

These three get conflated constantly, and the distinction is operationally load-bearing. An authorization reversal or a void releases an uncaptured hold — no money has moved, so nothing is returned to the cardholder; the earmark is simply dropped and the available balance restored. The two terms overlap heavily and many providers use them interchangeably for the same pre-capture intent.

A refund is a different operation: it returns funds that were already captured and settled. That is a new money movement — money going back out — not the cancellation of a hold. The difference matters for timing (a reversal restores available balance quickly; a refund can take days to land), for customer experience (a phantom hold after a cancellation is a support ticket waiting to happen), and for cost.

OperationWhat it acts onMoney movement
ReversalAn uncaptured authorization holdNone — the hold is released
VoidAn uncaptured authorization hold (overlaps with reversal)None — the hold is released
RefundFunds already captured and settledA new movement — money goes back out

The rule of thumb: before capture, reverse or void; after capture, refund. Picking the wrong one either fails or costs you unnecessarily.

Delayed capture and fulfillment

For physical goods, the natural pattern is authorize at order, capture at ship. You authorize when the customer places the order to confirm the funds and reserve them, and you capture when the goods actually leave — because capturing before fulfillment can mean charging for something you cannot ship, and many card-scheme expectations favor capturing at fulfillment for physical goods.

The risk in this pattern is the window. If fulfillment takes longer than the authorization survives, the hold expires before you capture. When that happens, you re-authorize — run a fresh authorization before capturing — because the original hold is gone and a late capture against it may fail or downgrade. The longer your fulfillment time, the more this matters: a same-day-ship merchant rarely brushes the window; a made-to-order or backorder merchant lives against it and needs a deliberate re-auth path.

Settlement and reconciliation

Capture is not settlement. Capturing instructs the money to move; settlement is when it lands. Captured transactions are typically batched and settled together on the provider's schedule, and the timing varies — by provider, region, and your contract — so, as everywhere in this guide, do not assume a universal number.

The subtler trap is that the amount you captured may not equal the amount that settles. Fees, FX conversion, scheme costs, refunds, chargebacks, and other adjustments are netted out between capture and settlement, so the deposit in your account is a net figure, not a clean sum of your captures. Reconciling captured-versus-settled is a real operational job, and when the two do not line up, the cause is usually one of those adjustments — or a genuine break.

This guide deliberately stops at the concept that settlement ≠ capture. The taxonomy of what breaks and how to triage it lives in the PSP reconciliation failure runbook, and the structure of the settlement files themselves — how to read what Stripe or Adyen actually sends you — lives in the Stripe/Adyen settlement-file reference. The cash-flow cost of the days your money spends in transit between capture and settlement is quantified in the working-capital cost of payments.

Common operator failure modes

The recurring ways the lifecycle bites operators, with the usual cause and the move. This is operator synthesis — calibrate it to your own provider and contracts.

FailureCauseWhat to do
Auth approved but capture failedCapture call errored, was never sent, or hit an expired/invalid holdAlert on auth-without-capture; retry or re-authorize; never assume an approval became a charge
Auth expired before fulfillmentFulfillment took longer than the capture windowTrack the window per scheme/provider; re-authorize before capturing late orders
Duplicate auth or duplicate captureRetries or double-submits without idempotencyUse idempotency keys on auth and capture; dedupe before sending
Partial shipment / partial capture confusionCapturing the full amount when only part shipped, or mishandling the remainderCapture only what shipped; understand whether your provider releases the remainder automatically
Incremental auth not supported or misconfiguredRelying on incremental auth where the scheme/MCC/provider does not support itConfirm support per scheme/MCC; have a fallback (re-auth) when it is unavailable
Customer sees a hold after cancellationReversal/void not sent on cancellation, leaving the hold in placeSend a reversal or void promptly on every cancellation; monitor reversal latency
Settlement does not match the captured amountFees, FX, refunds, chargebacks, and adjustments netted out — or a genuine breakReconcile captured vs settled; triage breaks via the reconciliation runbook

What to monitor

The lifecycle gives you a clean set of metrics. Watch these and most of the failure modes above surface before a customer or your finance team finds them:

  • Capture success rate — the share of authorizations that result in a successful capture; a drop flags the auth-approved-but-capture-failed problem.
  • Auth-to-capture time — how long between approval and capture, against your applicable window; rising time means rising expiry risk.
  • Expired-auth rate — authorizations that lapsed before capture; directly measures the fulfillment-window mismatch.
  • Reversal latency — time from cancellation to reversal sent; this is the customer-hold-after-cancel metric.
  • Capture-vs-settlement variance — the gap between what you captured and what settled, beyond expected fees; spikes flag reconciliation breaks.
  • Duplicate-capture incidents — counts of double captures or double auths; should be near zero if idempotency is working.

Operator checklist

Practical items to settle before you build, not after the first incident:

  • Separate authorization and capture deliberately — decide where auto-capture is fine and where you need a manual capture step (physical goods, delayed fulfillment), rather than defaulting into one mode.
  • Track capture windows per scheme and provider — store the window that applies to your transactions and act before it lapses; never hardcode a single universal number.
  • Send reversals promptly on cancellation — wire a reversal or void into every cancellation path so customers do not sit on phantom holds.
  • Use idempotency keys — on both authorization and capture, to prevent duplicate holds and duplicate charges from retries.
  • Reconcile captured vs settled — match every capture to its settlement and net out fees/FX/adjustments; investigate anything left over.
  • Re-authorize on expiry — have an explicit path to run a fresh authorization when a hold lapses before fulfillment, instead of attempting a doomed late capture.
  • Monitor the metrics above — capture success rate, auth-to-capture time, expired-auth rate, reversal latency, capture-vs-settlement variance, and duplicate incidents.

Scope note

Timing, capture windows, and feature support vary by scheme, card type, acquirer, PSP, region, merchant category, and contract — there is no universal number, and any specific window in this guide (such as the Stripe defaults) is cited as that provider's documented example, not a scheme-wide rule. This is operational guidance, not legal advice, and it makes no liability claims on your behalf; the authentication liability effect mentioned under the lifecycle is scheme- and contract-defined and covered in 3DS2 and the authentication tax, not here.

This guide is also card-focused. Non-card rails — account-to-account transfers, wallets, real-time payment schemes — have different lifecycles and are out of scope. Verify the specifics that apply to your stack with your PSP and acquirer. For the levers that lift authorization rates — retries, network tokens, BIN-level tuning — see authorization optimization; for the revenue math of those rate gains, see auth-rate point economics. This guide owns the mechanics; those own the optimization.

For term definitions — authorization, capture, settlement, partial authorization, incremental authorization, authorization reversal, and void — see the Payments Glossary.

Sources & methodology (15)

Authorization and capture can be separated (capture_method=manual), which places a hold on the card; a partial capture automatically releases the remaining amount; and the authorization hold expires after a window that varies by network and transaction type — Stripe documents card-not-present holds of 7 days for Mastercard, American Express, and Discover and 5–7 days for Visa, with different windows for card-present and other payment methods

Vendor documentation; the specific expiry windows are Stripe's documented defaults cited as a provider example, explicitly not a universal scheme rule — windows vary by scheme, card type, acquirer, PSP, region, and MCC.

Checked:

Incremental authorization increases the authorized amount on a confirmed payment before capture, used when the total price changes or the customer adds goods or services; support depends on the network and, for some networks, is restricted to specific merchant categories such as hotels, car rentals, and passenger transport

Vendor documentation; cited for the incremental-authorization mechanism and that support and merchant-category eligibility vary by network — not universally available.

Checked:

By default Adyen captures payments automatically immediately after authorisation, but capture can be delayed or made manual; with a single partial capture the unclaimed remainder is automatically cancelled; and cancelling an authorisation releases the held funds back to the shopper's account, but only before capture — after capture you can no longer cancel

Vendor documentation; cited for auto-vs-manual capture, partial-capture behavior, and the cancel/reversal-before-capture distinction as a provider example, not a universal rule.

Checked:

Cancelling an authorisation releases the funds back to the shopper's bank account and is only possible before capture; if it is unclear whether the payment has been captured, a reversal is the appropriate operation rather than a cancellation

Vendor documentation; cited for the cancel/reversal-releases-an-uncaptured-hold distinction; exact endpoint behavior is provider-specific.

Checked:

The card payment process runs in two stages: authorization (the request routed from merchant to acquirer/processor, through the network to the issuer, with an approve/decline returned), then clearing and settlement (transactions reconciled with the acquirer/processor, routed via the networks, and settled against issuing and acquiring accounts) — establishing that authorization and clearing/settlement are distinct stages

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia Payment Cards Center discussion paper; cited for the durable authorization-vs-clearing/settlement distinction, not for any fee figure or timing.

Checked:

Visa's 2016 best-practices guide for U.S. lodging, car rental, and cruise line merchants states an incremental authorization is only required once the final purchase amount exceeds the sum of authorized amounts by more than 15% for lodging/cruise line, or by more than 15% or USD 75 (whichever is greater) for car rental; merchants must reverse the unused difference within 24 hours of check-out/return/disembarkation when the final amount comes in more than 15% below the authorized total; estimated authorizations must exclude damage/insurance-deductible buffers

Visa's own published document (2016); cited for the 15% / USD 75 capture-tolerance thresholds and the 24-hour reversal obligation for these three U.S. merchant categories specifically. Not asserted as applying outside the U.S. or outside these categories.

Checked:

Visa's 2019 guidance on expanded estimated/incremental authorization eligibility (parking, EV charging, card-absent grocery) describes 'the existing 15% authorization-to-clearing tolerance' merchants can use to true up a shortfall (e.g. a tip added after authorization) without a new authorization message — but states this tolerance is no longer usable for the remainder of a transaction once an incremental authorization has been used on it; estimated authorizations for card-absent grocery must not include speculative tip amounts

Visa's own published article; cited for the 15% tolerance figure and its interaction with incremental authorization, scoped to the card-absent grocery/parking/EV-charging context this article addresses.

Checked:

Visa's 2006 merchant guide lists 'the cardholder stays at a lodging merchant and is also billed a no-show from the same location, for the same date' among its typical compliance violations — a distinct billing event that double-charges one booking

Visa's own published guide, dated 2006 — cited only as an illustrative, sourced example of the no-show/stay double-billing compliance violation, not as necessarily the current compliance-list wording. This same 2006 document also described a 20% automatic restaurant tip-authorization allowance; that figure is stale for U.S. merchants (see the current Visa Core Rules source below) and is not asserted anywhere in this article — the current, region-split figure is used instead.

Checked:

The Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules (18 April 2026 edition), Table 7-10, sets the permitted variation between the Authorization Amount and the Clearing Amount at up to 30% for U.S. restaurants, fast food restaurants, and caterers (MCCs 5811/5812/5814), effective 21 February 2026 and up from 20% before that date; up to 20% for the same merchant categories outside the U.S. (Asia Pacific, Canada, CEMEA, Europe, LAC) and, unchanged, for taxicabs, drinking places, and beauty/barber/spa merchants worldwide; up to 15% for cruise line and lodging merchants and for other cardholder-initiated card-absent transactions; and the greater of 15% or USD 75 (or local currency equivalent) for vehicle rental

Visa's own current, publicly-designated rulebook (marked 'Visa Public' throughout); cross-checked against the source PDF for row/value alignment given the table's multi-line bulleted cells. This is the authoritative current source for every tolerance percentage in this section and is what corrects the 2006 guide's stale restaurant figure.

Checked:

The Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules (18 April 2026 edition) set maximum transaction-processing timeframes of 30 calendar days from a valid estimated authorization for cruise line, lodging, and vehicle rental merchants, 10 calendar days for card-absent cardholder-initiated transactions and for a named list of other rental categories (aircraft, bicycle, boat, clothing/costume, DVD/video, equipment/tool, furniture, motor home, motorcycle, trailer park/campground rental), and 5 calendar days for card-present transactions (Table 5-12, Section 5.7.3.5); state that Automated Fuel Dispensers use a separate, capped Status Check / Initial Authorization framework with region-specific caps (e.g. USD 175, or USD 1,000 for a Visa Fleet Card, in most regions; JPY 15,000 in Japan) under which a merchant must not submit an Incremental Authorization Request (Section 5.7.2.6, Tables 5-10/5-11); and define Dispute Condition 11.3, No Authorization/Late Presentment, as arising when a valid authorization was required but not obtained, or was obtained but the transaction was not processed within the Section 5.7.3.5 timeframe (Section 11.8.3, Table 11-46)

Visa's own current, publicly-designated rulebook (marked 'Visa Public' throughout). Cited here in place of a separate 2024 Visa best-practices document that carries a confidential/restricted-distribution notice, because the public rulebook independently confirms the same three facts previously sourced only to that document: the estimated-authorization processing timeframes, the AFD no-incremental-top-up framework (with more precise regional dollar caps than the 2024 guide gave), and the Dispute Condition 11.3 linkage to authorization timing. No figure discrepancy was found between the two documents on any of these three points; the public rulebook is preferred as the cleaner, unrestricted source.

Checked:

Visa's 2024 estimated/incremental authorization best-practices guide states that laundries, quick copy, car wash, video rental, and vending — merchants that, along with Automated Fuel Dispensers, previously shared the capped 'initial authorization' framework — were being migrated off initial authorizations onto estimated/incremental authorizations effective April 2025, leaving only Automated Fuel Dispensers on the initial-authorization pattern

Visa's own published document (2024). This document carries an internal confidentiality notice, but it is hosted at a public usa.visa.com/dam/VCOM/ URL, is paraphrased here with attribution rather than reproduced, and is not being redistributed. It remains the sole source for this specific April 2025 migration list: the current (18 April 2026) public Visa Core Rules do not name laundries, quick copy, car wash, video rental, or vending, and do not state an April 2025 effective date, so this fact could not be re-sourced to the public rulebook and is kept here as-is.

Checked:

PaymentBrief could not confirm Mastercard's own capture-tolerance percentages against Mastercard's primary rulebook, its Transaction Processing Rules; a point-of-sale vendor's support documentation (Toast) states Mastercard reinstated a 20% tip tolerance for card-not-present restaurant transactions in 2017, which is not confirmed against Mastercard's own primary text

PaymentBrief could not check this against Mastercard's primary Transaction Processing Rules. The Toast figure is included only as an attributed, explicitly-unverified secondary data point — the article does not assert it as Mastercard's confirmed rule, and does not assume parity with Visa's figures.

Checked:

The Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules (18 April 2026 edition), Section 5.7.3.1 (Prohibition against Split Transaction), prohibits a merchant from splitting a transaction across 2 or more Transaction Receipts except for a named exception list (advance payments, individual airline/cruise-line tickets, installment transactions, original credit transactions, split Visa/other-payment transactions, and region-specific service-fee and US railway-ticket carve-outs) — split shipment is not on this list; Section 5.7.3.2 (Single Authorization Request for Multiple Clearing Transactions) is a separate, adjacent provision governing a different construct — how many clearing records may follow a single authorization, not how many receipts a transaction may be split across — limited to three routes — airlines/cruise lines/US railway merchants; a card-absent merchant shipping goods that meets all of: split-shipment purpose, matching payment credential/expiration/merchant outlet name across receipts, advance disclosure of possible multiple shipments, and per-shipment amount notification to the cardholder; or a domestic installment transaction in Brazil (LAC region) — and requires the acquirer to use a Multiple Clearing Sequence Number, with no stated cap on the number of clearing records; the rulebook does not state that 5.7.3.2 is an exception carved out of 5.7.3.1

Visa's own current, publicly-designated rulebook (marked 'Visa Public' throughout). An earlier version of this page said that whether multiple captures against one authorization are allowed 'varies by provider'; corrected on 31 August 2026 — for Visa specifically, this is a rulebook question, not a PSP-discretion one. Scoped to Visa only: PaymentBrief could not check Mastercard's rulebook for its equivalent. The rulebook sets conditions, not a numeric cap on clearing-record count, and does not define the Multiple Clearing Sequence Number field's format — that sits in VisaNet technical manuals, not this rulebook.

Checked:

The Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules (18 April 2026 edition) treats individual transactions carrying a Multiple Clearing Sequence Number that result from the same authorization as one transaction toward two separate dispute-counting thresholds: the more-than-35-disputes-in-120-days invalidity test under Dispute Condition 10.4 (Other Fraud – Card-Absent Environment, Section 11.7.5.3, Table 11-28, footnote 3), and the three-or-more-disputed-transactions cardholder-letter requirement under Dispute Condition 13.1 (Merchandise/Services Not Received, Section 11.10.2.5, Table 11-93, footnote 4)

Same source document as the 5.7.3.1/5.7.3.2 entry above. Cited for the dispute-threshold knock-on of split-shipment clearing: both footnotes use identical wording except for the transaction-count figure (35 vs. 3).

Checked:

The lifecycle and failure-mode tables, the monitoring set, and the operator checklist are PaymentBrief operator synthesis — operational framing to calibrate against your own provider, contracts, and market, not scheme rules or legal advice

Checked:

Source types explained in our Methodology.

Shaun Toh By Shaun Toh · Director, Digital Payments · Razer

More Psp And Infrastructure briefings